Using a Camera properly

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Johnny Thunder, Sep 16, 2007.

1. Johnny Thunder

Johnny Thunder

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +139
    Evening everyone. I am new to this section of the forums.
    I have just got back from holiday in Hong Kong, and have been going through my pics.(My camera is a Fuji Finepix S7000 Zoom.)

Like a typical tourist, almost every shot is on auto. I have lots of pictures to remind me of my holiday, but looking through, and reading this section for the last couple of hours, they could have been so much better.
    The only thing I did that was not on auto, were night shots from Victoria peak.
    Here, I messed with shutter speeds. I had no idea what I was doing, so I took lots of pics on different settings, and thankfully, got about five that were OK.

Firstly, I need to know if this camera is good enough to start to learn with, or if I would be best advised to upgrade.
    Also, could you point me to any guides etc, that you consider good for a beginner to start getting to grips with the basics.

Thank you for any help.

John.

2. Tobers

Tobers

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +893
    Hi John,

So you went to Hong Kong and didn't buy loads of cheap digital SLRs and lenses :eek:. Not many on here would have such restraint, certainly not me.

You can learn with any camera. I haven't used the S7000 but it gets pretty good reports as a "bridge" camera halfway between the point & shoots and the full size SLRs. The key thing to get right is composition. Learning how to compose a picture so it looks right is a key skill that any camera will let you do.