Used B&W PV1D vs New SVS SB12-NSD

Hataricus

Novice Member
Hello there,

I am brand new in the AV world, I have an Onkyo NVR636 paired with B&W M1 mk1 and am looking for a matching subwoofer.
My actual room is a 4.5m x 3.3m = 15sqm where my homeoffice is, so it's not really a HT specific room.
I will eventually move the setup in a living room, once we get the house extension we are planning ( might be 1-2 years ahead ) and it will have 4.5 m x 8.8m ~ 40 square meters - the new living room.

I am building towards that with already some modifications in mind.
I will be mostly listening to music, so I would say 70% music and 30% movies.

But today I have the option of buying a second hand B&W PV1D at the same price as a new SVS SB-12-NSD - aprox 550 EUR locally. Unfortunately I could only find on the second market locally: SVS PB-1000 ( 380 EUR ) or SVS PB-2000 ( 680 EUR ).

Is the B&W PV1D worth it - as the price new is ( in my eyes ) unjustified over SB-12 ?
Is it a big difference between 200mm vs 300mm diameter of speaker ?

Thanks for your tips,
Andy

paulst10

Distinguished Member
If it was music only I'd say the PV1 but. There should be big difference lower down especially below 30hz.. So I'd probably go for the SB12 :)

Hataricus

Novice Member
I just discovered that my local dealer also has the older SVS PB12-NSD ( 510 EUR ) at lower price than SB12-NSD. Is this maybe a better deal ?

Gasp3621

Distinguished Member
SVS SB12-NSD is still very popular sub, sitting between SB1000 and SB2000 (same cabinet as the latter has). You can read lot more about it from AVSF, be it movie or music system people seems to really enjoy them in US, usually duals! Also Russell liked it lot back in the days. Good reading here:
SVS SB12-NSD Subwoofer Review

@miguelbarroso bought one while ago! Happy chap.