USB2 as standard?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Ufotone, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. Ufotone

    Ufotone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Relaxing in my Cinema Room
    Ratings:
    +82
    Hi all

    Do all new computers come with USB2 as standard?

    The reason for my question is this:

    I recently purchased a new HTPC (spec below) and I've been having trouble trying to get my 360 add on HD DVD drive to work correctly, but it wont, keeps freezing up every few seconds. I have been getting on screen messages saying I have no High speed USB on my machine so I'm guessing the problem is there.

    I have PowerDVD Ultra latest ed, Blu-Ray plays fantastic.

    My knowledge of computers is very little and I'm now feeling very let down.

    Am I right to feel this way or is it normal to put USB1 on a new HTPC?

    Opinions please!!

    Silver OrigenAE Case
    Intel E6600 CPU
    8600GTSGraphics (Fanless with HDCP compliant DVI out)
    2 GB DDR800/PC6400 RAM
    500GB HDD
    Blu-Ray ROM / DVD RW combo
    Vista Home Premium
    Quiet cooling options (including Silent PSU, Silverstone NT06 CPU cooler, Noctua quiet fans etc.)
    Media Centre Remote/Receiver
    Accuratus Toughball,
    Wireless 54g card




    Tony
     
  2. Bagger

    Bagger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +227
    A chipset required to run the e6600 cpu that you have would most definatly support usb 2 also.

    Where are you plugging it into ? Front panel or rear conection.
    Reason I ask some front panel conections,the cabling to the motherboard are innsufficiently shielded badly made etc and will not pass data at usb 2 speeds.
     
  3. Ufotone

    Ufotone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Relaxing in my Cinema Room
    Ratings:
    +82
    Thank you

    I've plugged into front and rear with same results.

    Every time I plug something into any of the 6 USB ports I get a message with states, this can run faster, for more info click here.....when I click I'm told that there are no High speed USB installed on my computer. I've tried updating the drivers but I'm told they are the latest.

    Tony
     
  4. Bagger

    Bagger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +227
    What motherboard is it ?

    Maybe worth visiting the manurfactures website and downloading their latest chipset drivers.
     
  5. Ufotone

    Ufotone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Relaxing in my Cinema Room
    Ratings:
    +82
    :)
    Thank you, I would have no idea what motherboard it is though, not sure where to find out

    Tony
     
  6. Bagger

    Bagger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +227
    If its a really new motherboard then vista will not have the chipset drivers for it to load and will just load standard generic drivers, which is more than likely the reason you're having problem with no usb 2.

    Down load this http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-141.zip
    If you unzip it and run the cpu-z program. theres a tab on there ( mainboard) which will tell you the make, model and chipset your board has.
     
  7. Ufotone

    Ufotone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Relaxing in my Cinema Room
    Ratings:
    +82
    Cheers for your help mate:smashin: will get to it shortly


    Tony :)
     
  8. Ufotone

    Ufotone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Relaxing in my Cinema Room
    Ratings:
    +82
    Ok, motherboard is
    Manufacturer ASUSTeK
    Model P5LD2
    Chipset i945P

    Checked out on web, downloaded a programme (version tracker pro) that checks for all the latest drivers and it reported back that USB Universal host controllers are out of date and to download the updated (V82.0.1012.Zip)

    But the link leads to a "the webpage cannot be found" :(

    Tony :)
     
  9. Bagger

    Bagger
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +227
    I would have thought Vista had the chipset drivers for the P5LD2.
    But theres no harm in re-installing the latest ones.

    This is a link direct to Intel. slighty newer version 8.2.0.1013 http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Product_Filter.aspx?ProductID=816
    Just select your OS, down load the 1st one ( no.1) extract and run set up
     
  10. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +368
    The "this device can perform faster" dialogue means that you definitely have the wrong drivers installed anyway!
     
  11. Ufotone

    Ufotone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Relaxing in my Cinema Room
    Ratings:
    +82
    Guys, I've been told to check if USB2 is enabled in PC BIOS :confused:

    How do I do that please?

    Tony :)
     
  12. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +368
    Usually you hold down delete on bootup, this will give you a scary looking black and white (or funky coloured, but usually monochrome) screen with lots of writing on it, don't get scared, it's a really simple menu system that you navigate with the keyboard, find "system devices" or "input devices" or some similar tab (third or fourth tab along the top usually and then down a couple) and see if USB 2.0 or Enhanced USB support is enabled. Someone with that mobo may be able to be more specific!
     
  13. Ufotone

    Ufotone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Relaxing in my Cinema Room
    Ratings:
    +82
    Well guys...my headache is finally over.

    USB2 wasn't enabled, but it is now :D

    All is wonderful now :smashin:

    I would just like to post a HUGE thank you very much to all who helped here, and to all others who continually help me and other people like me who maybe are not too clued up on such matters. :thumbsup:


    Tony :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...