1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

US to UK camcorder compatability-help needed!!!!!

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by zarbiepink, Apr 28, 2005.

1. zarbiepink

zarbiepink

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I'm a complete novice when it comes to camcorders but I decided that for my 21st I'd like to treat myself to one as I'm going travelling around america this summer. The model I have decided I would like is the Sony DCRHC32. Over here on amazon.co.uk it retails at £355.99, but over in the US it retails at around £250-that's a big saving, especially when you're a student! I do have friends I'm staying with over there so I could order it on amazon.com and send it to them and pick it up when I get there in July. The problem is that I've asked around in a couple of shops and no one can tell me if it would be an issue if the camcorder was a US spec and whether I could still watch and record my films back in the UK!
    Any help would be much appreciated!!!

2. John F

John F
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +110
    There have been plenty of thread's about this & the general opinion is there are too many pitfalls. If you search around you find the price difference isn't so great.

3. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,393
  4. NikosF

NikosF

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    There are plently of threads, but they can be summarised thus:

1. HM Customs and Excise will charge you to bring it in
    2. NTSC is low-quality and evil, and your (PAL) UK TV will probably play it back badly.
    3. If it breaks down you are in trouble.