1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

US-sourced speakers in the UK?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by cmcg55, Jun 5, 2005.

1. cmcg55

cmcg55
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, newbie here looking for some help!

I'm currently living in the US, but will be returning home to the UK within the next few months. Unfortunately, that will also mean I'm going to have to do something about the Home Theatre System I bought here in the US.

What I was hoping someone could provide me with some help with is with an idea of how much I could potentially "salvage" from my system i.e. bring it with me.

Essentially, to run the TV, DVD Player and HK Receiver I bought over here, it looks like I'm going to have to go through more pain than it's all worth. I know about voltage transformers, but then there's the issue of current frequency (60Hz in the US, 50Hz in the UK), which makes motors, fans, etc. run slower (which I can obviously see having serious effects on the DVD player and likely the receiver's fan as well). Obviously there's also the NTSC vs PAL issue as well. Given these items, I've pretty much written off these components, and am going to try to sell them here before I leave.

However, I would dearly love to bring my Infinity loudspeaker system with me, but don't know if they will "work" in the UK. Obviously, they draw their power from the receiver (with the exception of the sub which is independently powered and likely will have to be sold also), but will running them from a 240/50 UK Receiver (rather than a 110/60 US unit) affect them adversely in any way?

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906