1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

US HDTV Satellite in the UK.?? possible?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by museumsteve, Jul 7, 2003.

  1. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    Is there any reason why you couldn;t get a satellite set-up to receive US HDTV broadcasts via satelllite in the UK.? Just a thought.
     
  2. oreoboy13

    oreoboy13
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Warning, assumption about to be read.

    i assume it one geo-stationary satellite, therefore, i wouldn't have thought the broadcast cone streaches across the atlantic.

    The same reason they cant get the astra.




    ??????????????????????????????????
     
  3. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +713
    The USA satellites carrying HDTV have footprints that mean you will not receive them in Europe.
    See www.lyngsat.com for actual footprints.
    Eventually something may just come from the guys at www.euro1080.tv - but right now I consider this site to be just marketing BS.
    I have a 2-metre dish and mess about hunting for links & feeds.
    Only once have I heard of a feed , receivable in the EU, with HDTV. That was on 37 degrees West (a Robbie Wiliams concert on an MTV link) and , by the time I heard about it (via a feedhunters forum email) it had gone :mad:

    Chris Muriel, Manchester (author of Digital satellite FAQ).
     
  4. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,019
    ho hum, that's that out of the window then.:)

    shame Chris..maybe Robbie will do another concert and you can catch it then..:D (j/k)
     
  5. mattmarsden

    mattmarsden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +68
    Chris,

    How about the US forces feeds in the UK?

    Why was there no other HD on that channel you found?
     
  6. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +713
    It was a 1-off broadcasting link. More could appear - not necessarily using the same satellite, frequency or other transmission parameters.
    AFRTS TV is encrypted (don't know whether any of it is HD).
    AFAIR you need a special receiver (uses a proprietrary embedded conditional access system (possibly PowerVu) and individual receiver authorisation.

    Chris Muriel.
     

Share This Page

Loading...