1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

US cube

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Shoka, Feb 21, 2003.

  1. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +239
    What is the going price at the moment for a 2nd hand US cube, I'm after one but don't have any idea of what to offer, and dont want to be taken for a mug.

    Would I be taking the mickey if I ofered someone £80?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    £80 for the machine only, 1 pad, stepdown and all leads is a more than fair price. At the end of the day an NTSC Cube, although superior (in my opinion), is not worth any more than a 2nd hand PAL Cube.
     
  3. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +239
    Just another quick question.

    What audio output does the cube have?
     
  4. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,100
    Errrr none :p

    It simply outputs through the AV out, so you either have to get a custom cable with the L/R channels split on it, or run it through a splitter into your amp.

    It uses DPL2 encoding in the games to create a stereo sound. Unfortunately no optical/digital outs.
     
  5. Sam

    Sam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Messages:
    320
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surbiton
    Ratings:
    +5
    Or use your TV's phono outputs to send the signal to the amp. :p
     
  6. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    As has been mentioned, the Cube outputs analogue stereo via it's Multi-Out. You can use an S-Video/L/R Phono from the Multi-Out and run the phono's to your Amp or you can use Composite/L/R Phono.

    Best of all, you can use the Component Cable from the Cube's DV-Out for Progressive (or Interlaced) gaming and use the Multi-Out for audio only, again straight to your AMP ot TV. Finally you can use a modified RGB Scart Cable with Audio L/R breakout built-in. Contact me if you require more information on the RGB Scart cable for NTSC Cubes.
     
  7. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +239
    Its just for my room, so it will be running on a 21" tv Which unforunatly does not have any audio outs. So a scart witch splits off into 2 phonos would be cool (do these exist?)
     
  8. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, if your tv is S-Video compatible, you can use a Nintendo S-Video + Audio cable to Scart Plug adapter. Then just run the phono's to the Amp instead of the Scart adapter. If you need to/want to use RGB Scart with built-in breakout, then PM me. These are not cheap though. See the site in my sig for instructions on how to make one.
     
  9. Shoka

    Shoka
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +239
    That looks pretty easy :eek:

    Think I'll leave it and just have it running off the TV (when and if I get one)
     
  10. bibooo

    bibooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +11
    groundy,

    Just a quick question. I'll be using the DV-out for progressive scan via a component cable. I presume I'll need to use the standard lead (included) to take the L/R audio to my amp, leaving composite video "dangling". Alternatively do Nintendo make an audio only lead for this purpose?

    Thanks,
    bibooo
     
  11. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    You presume right :). No Audio only lead exists as far as I know so just leave the Composite Phono dangling or snip the Composite portion of the cable at the Multi-Out and cover with a bit of black tape.
     
  12. bibooo

    bibooo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks for the confirmation. I'm surprised there's not an "all in one" lead which can handle digital video and analogue audio (like the PS2 component cable).

    It just seems a bit of overkill to have two leads coming from the Gamecube, even the modded RGB scart lead has to use both DV and analogue out??

    It was all so simple in the days of the C64. :)
     
  13. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    The DV-Out and the Analogue Out are two seperate entities on the Cube. Audio is not connected to the Dv-Out in any way - just Video, and hence the need for two seperate cables. Probably improves video quality by doing it this way :).
     

Share This Page

Loading...