1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

urgent problem

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by squirrely, Aug 23, 2005.

  1. squirrely

    squirrely
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Way out West
    Ratings:
    +78
    hi all, i am in the middle of fitting a new 4R160L0 160gb maxtor hd in my sky plus and now have to switch the jumper to "cable select", as i am new to this sort of thing, can someone please tell me how to do this please. thank's :smashin:
     
  2. Moosh

    Moosh
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,002
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +473
    On the back of the hard drive should be six pins, two rows of three pins and connecting two of these pins should be a jumper (a small plastic coated metal). Underneath your harddrive, near these pins or even on the label on top of your hard drive should be a drawing of this pins with the letters CS next to one column. This is the Cable Select option. Prize the jumper out and then connect it across the two CS pins.

    Your harddrive is not is cable select mode.

    Moosh
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,914
    There is usually a small diagram of the jumper pins on the label of the HD or there will be a diagram packed with it.
    There are usually 3 choices....Master (MA) Slave (SL) and Cable Select (CS)....You need to put the jumper over the two pins marked CS.
     
  4. squirrely

    squirrely
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Way out West
    Ratings:
    +78
    Thanks Folks :thumbsup: It is back together and working ok. The jumper was already set to cs as it happens.
     
  5. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +371
    Who told you you were allowed to say that! :rotfl:
     

Share This Page

Loading...