1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

URGENT Is my Sky+ About to Die...

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Anastie, Oct 27, 2004.

  1. Anastie

    Anastie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Had my version one box (the £99 deal :thumbsup: ) for over a year now with no problems. Until now.

    Over the last few days some recordings fail, the planner looks fine "recorded" then I go to view and sky+ freezes until I go into normal sky viewing. Then go back into planner and the "recorded message now reads "failed" This has happened 4 times tonight. I have updated software and done system reset.

    Anythoughts before I pay out the standard £65 fee for repair? :eek:
     
  2. Anastie

    Anastie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Please someone must have an answer! :)
     
  3. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,230
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,104
    If you have tried all the major things you can do yourself, which you mentioned, such as full complete system reset, etc then it sounds like it's on the way out.
     
  4. mps

    mps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +52
    Have u tried doing the housekeeping option:
    You can do this by pressing services 401 Select and choose the housekeeping option.

    WARNING - THIS WILL WIPE THE CONTENTS OF THE HARD DISK

    This should fix the problem :thumbsup:
     
  5. Anastie

    Anastie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Thank all. I will do the housekeeping and if that fails to sort it ring Sky :(
     
  6. Cynthia 7

    Cynthia 7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem, Anastie, last year. Sky talked me through a procedure, which I presume is the housekeeping option, as they warned it would wipe the contents from the hard disk. After that everything was perfect so I hope that works for you too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...