URGENT HELP: VHS Video to DVD + Camcorder to DVD

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by MELUN, Dec 14, 2003.

1. MELUN

MELUN

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I am a newbie here and in need of some help.

I have some very basic needs and just need to guage what the best solution is.

I would like to get a DVD Recorder to convert all my years of VHS recordings to DVD format.

Also I am doing a lot of filming with my Canon MV600i and would love to convert my footage into a DVD format.

I also am a huge fan of music and would love to get my hands on some of the DVDs of the artists I follow from around the world.

Can anyone please advise what would be a good cost effective unit to buy?

2. Johndm

Johndm

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +57
    Panasonic DMR E60..............although I'm biased as I recently got one..:D However, wonderful bit of kit, and I myself am at this moment copying some SVHS video to DVD RAM direct from my camera.

3. bobones

bobones

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Panasonic's Flexible Record is the unique killer feature for dubbing VHS to dvd. It allows the bitrate to be adjusted so that the the dvd is filled to capacity, whatever the recording length, to give the best possible quality. No other manufacturer offers the same feature as far as I know.

For your camera, you'll want a recorder with i-link/firewire/dv input. If you can afford it go for a machine with a hard disk such as the HS2 (£540 multiregion) as this will allow you to edit before committing to dvd-r. If not, the E60 (£330 MR), which has no hard drive, would fit the bill.

Check www.pricerunner.co.uk for best prices.

4. Johndm

Johndm

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +57