Urgent help needed! PHD8 + Wii problem

Kopacabana

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi there

I have a PHD8 which links up to my other AV equipment (Freeview unit and PS2) via component through an RGB scart converter.

I've just bought a Wii with a scart cable and plugged it in to the converter.

My problem is that I get a picture from the Wii but no sound. I've tried everything but to no avail. :mad::mad::mad:

Can anyone offer an idea as to what is going on?

Wouldn't you want to use component to connect a Wii to a PHD8?

Sounds like a knackered SCART lead to me, is it an official Ninty RGB jobbie?

I'm assuming you feed the sound from the converter to an amp or the audio input on the phd8?

Once I get the flippin' thing working then I'll start thinking about component!

Can't be a dodgy scart.

I first used the original cable that was in the box but I got no sound or picture. So I just nipped out to get the Nintendo scart and now at least I get a picture.

Correct. The sound goes from the converter to the amp.

The RGB converter wouldn't have liked the composite cable, that's why you got no picture first time.

If other SCARTs work in the same slot on the converter, then either the Wii is knackered or the cable's knackered.

or the cable isn't plugged in properly

If other SCARTs work in the same slot on the converter, then either the Wii is knackered or the cable's knackered.

or the cable isn't plugged in properly

Can't be. Surely two faulty scarts in one evening is more than just coincidence?

Yeah does seem unlikely - I'd be suspecting the Wii, does it work on other TVs?

Can't test it on another TV as there is only one in the flat.

I'd be really annoyed if it is the Wii's fault. I've only just bought it today.

Guess I'll have to take it back to HMV and get them to test it.

Thanks fella.