1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urgent assistance to save Christmas!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by allansr, Dec 3, 2003.

  1. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help!

    Having decided to purchase a projector as a family present, and having come to the conclusion that a demo within a 200 mile radius was impossible. I scoured your excellent postings, and many other Internet sources to conclude that within my budget the best option (without a demo) was the Sanyo Z2. BUT to my horror I discovered that the short throw lens does not suit my room. I have a longish narrow room and had hoped to have the PJ at one end with the screen at the other - but the image will simply be too big.

    so

    Can I mount the PJ on a shelf half way down the side (long) wall - projecting at some 30 - 40 degrees onto the end wall? (scouring endless sites and Sanyo catalogues has failed to inform me on this).

    or

    Should I go for a GRADED!!! Sony HS 10, the lens/throw fit the room superbly.

    How do the two machines compare (the HS 10 has an aparent reputation for noise and unrelaibility)

    FINALLY

    Are graded projectors a risky choice?

    Best regards

    Allan :( :( :(
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  3. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    many thanks.

    Budget is approx £1500.

    Id rather avoid a ceiling mount due to the difficulty of routing the cables.

    Allan
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Allan not that difficult honest mate and Z2 looks like the best for budget at the moment (assume you will need a screen as well). How old is your house???
     
  5. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    House is OLD.

    About 150 years or so.

    Seems a lot of hassle getting power and video cables (DVD, xbox, SKY) fom the equipment to the PJ.

    Kramer seems to rate the HS 10 as better than the Z2!!!!!!

    Best regards

    Allan
     
  6. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    I live in a property about 125 years old. Had the same reservations. However, once you get your head around it, it can be fairly straightfoward.

    If you are using the PJ downstairs, simply lift the floorboards and work from above and below where possible. If you were to go for the new Z2 the lens shift would allow you to place the PJ very close to the ceiling and thus out of head bumping way. If upstairs like me, simply route cabling and wires via the attic.

    There are some superb ceiling mounts available, and any wires you cant hide can be put in plastic trunking and painted to match the walls/ceiling.

    Go for it.

    Cap:smashin:
     
  7. dan_wade

    dan_wade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How does the Z2 compare to the Panasonic Ae500? I thought the new Ae500 was about the same price as the Z2.

    Dan.
     
  8. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks for the helpfull replies.

    Contrary to some advice - I have purcased a Graded HS10 (as new with 12 month warranty from Robert Whyte Galsgow (via ebay!)) for £1250.

    Whilst there seems a risk of reliability issues, the combination of price, performance and long throw lens made it unbeatable.

    Do yo knoow if the UK HS10 comes with a 10m multi cable as standard?

    Allan:smashin:
     
  9. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    that it does. Great news on the PJ and boy, what a unit to start with! FANTASTIC PICTURE....

    It may be worth noting that the HS10 has dedicated component inputs anyway. what is going to provide your images? DVD or HTPC?

    enjoy the PJ.

    Cap:)
     
  10. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fingers crossed!

    Initally it shall be fed a component signal from a (classic!) SONY 725 dvd + XBOX (S Video?) and maybee SKY Digibox (not sure yet how to do this - I will need to search some previous threads)

    I was gob smacked when I worked out the screen size - 2.2 x 1.3m!


    Regards

    Allan
     
  11. ozdvduser

    ozdvduser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    Should do, worldwide they all get the 10Mtr PJ Multi (1x RCA Composite, 1x 4pin S-Video & 3xRCA Component)
     
  12. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks ozdvduser.

    Should be fairly simple to get the thing set up.

    Component to DVD

    S video to X Box.

    What is the best way to connect the HS10 to my SKY digibox. It is connected via a RGB scart to the DVD player (which loops through to the TV) . Will it therefor output Sky via component????

    Regards

    Allan
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    have to be a fancy DVD player to convert RGB to YUV mate!
     
  14. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any suggestions hornydragon.

    dIGIBOX - hs 10?

    Regards

    Allan
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Composite or RGB>YUV converter from JS and a component switcher, what amp you using? if it has S-video switching then JS RGB>S-video might be better (cheaper) option.
     
  16. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Amp is an old SONY TAV 8ES. I have always kept video well clear of it, but it has a range of composite/S Video inputs/outputs.

    Is there a JS website?

    Regards

    Allan
     
  17. rkb

    rkb
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Irvine Scotland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi Allansr.

    your HS10 will arrive with a 10m multi cable.
    I had also purchased from Robert Whyte and I recently posted a link in the "special offers" section highlighting the £1249 graded offer.
    My HS10 had to be returned because of a lamp problem,but I'll be back at whyte's this week to demo an HS20 to see if it's that muchbetter than the HS10
    Cheers
    RKB
     
  18. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi RKB

    Pity about the lamp problem

    When it worked were you happy with it?

    Did you connect it to your SKY box?

    Was Robert Whyte helpfull in resolving the problem?

    Regards

    Allan
     
  19. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    JS website is http://www.rgbtosvideo.com/ i guess simple solution is use SONY amp switch S-video XBOX, Sky etc and get RGB>S-Video converter for Sky £80 or pick one up S/H on here.
     
  20. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks hornydragon for your helpfull and constructive advice.

    Best regards

    Allan
     
  21. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    2 weeks to go mate, how is it going?
     
  22. allansr

    allansr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pick up the projector on Monday

    Screen ordered (from DRH) but not arrived yet!

    Regards

    Allan
     
  23. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +503
    Allan
    A ProV (see here) may help with SKY. I had my pace digibox connected via composite and it was almost unwatchable. The ProV, I believe, outputs progressive scan to the PJ via a Dsub connector (like you get with a PC monitor).

    Mine outputs to a panasonic AE100.

    You should be well chuffed with the Sony.

    Chris
     

Share This Page

Loading...