Upscaling through component leads

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by dynamodav, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. dynamodav

    dynamodav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Would an upscaling dvd player send the upscaled image through the component connection or will it only be the hdmi connection?
     
  2. martin purnell

    martin purnell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    My understanding is upscaling can't be done through component because of copyright reasons. However, there were a couple of models from Oppo and Samsung that flouted this. Considering you can use component for upscaled and HD pictures courtesy of a Sky HD box, we live in a really daft (or should that read greedy?)world !
     
  3. Peopleselbowpad

    Peopleselbowpad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +53
    Helios H2000 and H4000 both upscale through Component. High fault ratio though so get them from Superfi in the UK as they are superb when returning an item if you fancy one.
     
  4. imjay

    imjay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    If the issue is copy encryption then can't he use a simple decrypter, load that file to HDD, compress as necessary and burn back out as a disc that will allow up conversion benefit via component out of the DVD player??
     
  5. jerrymac

    jerrymac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cork/Ireland
    Ratings:
    +28
    Try the Kingwell 6900i...Allows upscaling to 1080p over component...£79 ...google it..
     

Share This Page

Loading...