1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Taz, Apr 22, 2004.

  1. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    We are thinking of doing some PC upgrades to our home PC, we want a performance upgrade and a new case without going silly money wise.

    Below is the spec of our machine, what would you recommend?


    AMD Athlon XP2200+
    Asus A7V8X mobo
    3 x 256mb @ 2 x 133 mhz (266) RAM
    40GB & 80GB HDD
    Geforce FX 5600 256mb Graphics
    DVD ROM
    DVD RW


    TIA :)
     
  2. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    That looks to be a fairly good spec machine and will play/do everything you need with current titles. I'd personally wait a while longer as the hardware available at the moment is not too far off what you currently have. The next crop of graphics cards are due soon and there is talk of maybe a new graphics port to replace agp (PCI express iirc). 64 bit processors are now available and will come down in price over time.

    If you must upgrade then I'd change the cpu to the highest one that your mobo will support (might have to flash your bios though). An ati radeon 9800pro at around £130 would be a improvemnt over your current graphics card and I'd get a gig of memory (1 x 512 + 2 x 256).

    I'm waiting to see what the next round of hardware has to offer before my next upgrade. My m/c spec is:-

    Abit NFS-7 Nforce 2 Mobo
    AMD XP2700+
    1024 pc2700 ddr Memory (2 x 512mb dual channel)
    Ati Radeon 9700pro
    60Gb HD
    DVD ROM
    CDr/rw


    :devil:
     
  3. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info, may just stick a new CPU and some DDR400 RAM in with a new case then.
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    Yes I would back up Hawklords comments.
     
  5. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Specs for my mobo:

    Processor Socket A for AMD®: Athlon XP/ Athlon/ Duron up to 2.4GHz+
    Thoroughbred core CPU ready
    Chipset North Bridge: VIA®: KT400
    South Bridge: VIA®: VT8235
    FSB 266/200 MHz
    Memory 3 x DDR DIMM Sockets
    Max. 3 GB unbuffered *PC3200 /PC2700/PC2100/PC1600 non-ECC SDRAM Memory

    So not much room for improvement there.

    Thanks for the replies guys.
     
  6. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
  7. Underscore

    Underscore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    First question I would ask is, what do you use it for and what applications of those do you want to run faster?

    _
     
  8. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Hawklord, i'll check that out!

    Its used for a lot of surfing, 2D & 3D CAD systems, the odd flight sim and for uploading pictures/editing from digi camera.
     
  9. Underscore

    Underscore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, depending on which you want to accelerate:

    Surfing - Get Broadband (or 56k modem, if your still using a 33k!)

    CAD/Flight Sim - Graphics card or higher FSB/more memory

    Uploading/editing pictures - Faster HD, USB2.0 card reader if your camera is USB1.1, maybe higher FSB/more memory if you are using MIPS intensive filters like FocusMagic.

    If you haven't already, spending money on a back-up strategy for your photos would be good. The thought of losing all my photos due to a HD crash and the CD-R dyes having decomposed made me go for a USB2.0 HD to duplicate all my photos.

    HTH,

    _
     
  10. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 1mb B/B connection, a 256mb Graphics card, usb is 2.0 (mobo supports it), RAM now at 1Gb, and DVDRW for backups.

    :confused:
     
  11. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    BIOS flashed :)

    Just got to track down a new CPU :smashin:
     
  12. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    I don't think threr is any need to spend more than the £50ish for a 2500+XP. Very oc-able although it will be multiplier locked now,still the best bang for bucks ratio.
     
  13. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thanks for that, can you provide me some more info pls?
     
  14. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    £50.55 from Komplett http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?sku=116244&cks=PRL . The earlier chips could be overclocked by increasing the clock speed however AMD locked this ( i believe it can still be done but it's now a more complicated procedure) but the fsb can still bring about very usfull speed increases over standard. If you need some ideas of whats availible with this chip look at some boards such as http://forums.amd.com (lots of other boards as well).
     
  15. Taz

    Taz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Lynx
     
  16. chilpillphil3

    chilpillphil3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you know ruffly how long we will be waiting for these new graphic cards.

    Is it weeks on months, i need a new pc in the next 3-4 months, the sooner the better, but it will have to be good enough to work for the next couple of years playing the latest games.

    Thanks
     
  17. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    End of May I've been led to believe for nvidia's next offering and ATI's is expected a few weeks later but don't hold me to this:)
     
  18. chilpillphil3

    chilpillphil3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, will it be a high price for the first couple of months, and then drop

    Im a student with little money lol.
     
  19. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    It's rumoured to be £400+ initially for their respective top end cards:eek:

    There goes my other kidney:devil:
     
  20. chilpillphil3

    chilpillphil3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol, ah damn , thats over budget for me, i might look at getting a cheap AGP card then, as prices should fall,

    I will have around £550 for case, mobo, cpu and RAM

    not looking good :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...