streamingnewbie

Novice Member
Hi Guys, complete newbie here hoping to get some help and advice.

I currently have a Yamaha RX-V379 receiver and a 5.1 setup (Cambridge Audio Min12 (X5) and X201) along with Sky Q UHD. I did previously have my PS4 connected via the optical but when Sky installed they said my Receiver wouldn't support UHD so they switched the Sky Q to Optical and my PS4 was just disconnected (my Yamaha is HDCP2.2 so still a bit confused on that). So currently HDMI1 port is Samsung TV and Sky Q is the Optical.

My new Samsung Q800T has just packed in after 10 months so I'm been offered a full refund so am replacing it with the LG CX. (I've therefore got a decent budget for a PS5 and possible new receiver).

I've ordered the Denon AVR-X2700H but am debating whether it's even needed. I will be keeping my 5.1 speaker setup rather than upgrading to Dolby or 7.1.

I guess what I'm asking is:

1) With my current Yamaha receiver, could I in fact use my PS4 (soon to be PS5) along with Sky UHD fine (and it is Sky that have made a mistake)?
2) Would there be any benefit of upgrading to Denon AVR-X2700H based on my setup explained above? And would I be able to connect a 5.1 setup when this receiver is actually 7.2?

The new receiver is £600 so not cheap but like I say, I've saved a bit from my TV exchange so got an OK budget, but if there will be no benefit from upgrading I'd prefer to save myself the headache.

Appreciate any help.

Thanks

Links:

Hi Guys, complete newbie here hoping to get some help and advice.

I currently have a Yamaha RX-V379 receiver and a 5.1 setup (Cambridge Audio Min12 (X5) and X201) along with Sky Q UHD. I did previously have my PS4 connected via the optical but when Sky installed they said my Receiver wouldn't support UHD so they switched the Sky Q to Optical and my PS4 was just disconnected (my Yamaha is HDCP2.2 so still a bit confused on that). So currently HDMI1 port is Samsung TV and Sky Q is the Optical.