Upgrading to Xbox Slim?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Spikester84, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. Spikester84

    Spikester84
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lossiemouth
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi guys,

    I have a question i'm hoping someone can help me with.

    So I have an old Xbox Elite console, and was thinking of upgrading to the new Xbox Slim, but what is the best way for me to transfer my stuff from my Elite to a new Slim? I probably have about 20gb of stuff to transfer across, also how would I transfer my Sky Player over to the new console?

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  2. lfcynwa

    lfcynwa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    You can pick up a hdd transfer cable kit for about £5 which might be the easiest way.
     
  3. Spikester84

    Spikester84
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lossiemouth
    Ratings:
    +17
    Where can you get them for £5??

    Most places online seem to sell them for £25 and I certainly aint paying that for a 'one use' cable!

    Steve
     
  4. lfcynwa

    lfcynwa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think it was CeX second hand though.
     
  5. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,425
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
  6. Spikester84

    Spikester84
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lossiemouth
    Ratings:
    +17
    Can you use a data migration cable more that once???

    And also, does it transfer over your licences for things like Sky Player?

    Steve
     
  7. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,425
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    No once only. You can also dump the stuff to a usb drive and move it over that way.
     
  8. DJSigma

    DJSigma
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,896
    Yes. Obviously, the cable itself has unlimited uses. As for transferring your data, you can go from one drive to another that's the same size or larger as many times as you want to.

    MS used to have a guide on their site that called the process a "one time transfer". Some people misinterpreted that as meaning that the cable could be used once, then you have to throw it away. Others thought it meant you could only ever transfer your data once and that's it. Neither of those things are true. "One time transfer" only meant that if you transfer data from drive A to drive B, you can't then go back from drive B to drive A.

    License transfers are limited to 1 per year though.
     
  9. Doug the D

    Doug the D
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +11,978
    This is wrong, you could (if you wanted to) go from A to B, then B to A, and repeat as many times as you like. What you cant do is go from A to B, then A to C, and so on. 'one time use' means that it doesn't COPY the data from A to B, it MOVES it completely. This is why you couldn't go from A to B, then A to C, as once the data cable is used on A and B, the data is now on xbox B, and xbox A is erased...make sense? Ta Da!!:lesson:
     
  10. DJSigma

    DJSigma
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,896
    That is wrong, unless B and A are the same size. Most people buy a transfer cable to go from A to B because B is larger than A, and in that case, you cannot transfer the data back from B to A. The target drive has to be the same size or larger than the source drive. If you go from a 120GB drive to a 250GB drive, for example, you cannot then go from the 250GB back to the 120GB, even if the data would easily fit on there.
     
  11. 16to9

    16to9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +27
    Did this just this morning. No need for a cable. Just plug in a USB stick or a HDD and transfer everything that it will let you over to this drive.

    Then copy it back to the new machine, I've just done that now.

    You'll have to re-install all the game discs but that's no big deal. You might also have to download some content too, but again, no big issue.

    Just bear in mind that the USB stick or drive will be wiped in the process (or so it says).
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice