1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading to Sky+

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Gillykid, Jun 1, 2005.

  1. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

    Sorry if these are Newb questions but I would like to upgrade to Sky+. Sky have already said it can't be done as I used a shared dish and can't have more than one feed. Fair enough.

    So the questions:

    1) If I got the Sky+ box, can I still use it with my current card / subscriptions? I really could do with the Digital Out for sound.

    2) If I got the Sky+ box, can I still use it to record, even if it is just the channel I am watching?

    3) Assuming I do get the box - do I have to get the extra subscription - if so do i just call Sky?

    4) Is there anyway of getting a second signal to the box without a second line? No idea how - just curious!

    Thanks for your help guys!

    G
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Some people with a single feed have managed to get the recording bit to work, by setting up "phantom recordings" to force the box to use the correct input. To use the box at all requires a £10/month subscription, or free if you have 2 or more premium channels on your subscription.

    I doubt whether you would get an installer to fit it to a single feed - you would probably have to buy one from a dealer and install it yourself. Look back through the threads for more information.
     
  3. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply Nick

    Getting hold of a Sky+ box is fine, I have heard of the 'phantom recording' - this would suit be fine.

    However, how do you subscribe to Sky+ without having it installed? Is it just a case of calling Sky and saying, I pay more than £30 a month, please change my signal to Sky+?? :confused:

    Thanks again...
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Just tell Sky you have bought a Sky+ box privately, and you would like to upgrade your account, and pair your card to the new box.
     
  5. Pavel

    Pavel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    It's worth getting a specialist installer to have a look; what Sky told you is conventional wisdom, but it's possible that the communal system has spare capacity on it.

    I'm also on a communal system, and had the installer round this morning due to general PQ issues (now fixed). They checked the communal system here, and there are two spare feeds just outside my front door. The Sky+ quote is on it's way :thumbsup:

    They also said that the 160G version is much more reliable than the older unit, and is also more responsive.

    Paul
     
  6. Br41ns

    Br41ns
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +31
    :hiya:

    Wouldnt agree that the 160 box is more reliable, one of my mates works for sky and talked me out of getting one as they have no end of bother with them. Ended up upgrading the hard drive in my sky+ to 160 myself, took 15 mins, a cup of coffee and cost 55 quid for the new drive.
     
  7. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys

    Thanks for all the replies. I guess it may be worth a word with my local installer - is there a directory of installers? I know of one in Coventry (near me) but I guess it would be better to get someone nearer!

    Paul - did you have any issues with management regarding the communial system? I'm not sure if I would have to run what I am doing through the lease holders....! Saying that they would never know :devil:

    I have had a look at reciever prices - it looks like about £150 for a Sky+ reciever - does anyone know of any cheaper retailers?

    Cheers

    G :clap:
     
  8. Pavel

    Pavel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    The houses here are are run by a residents management committee rather than a third party; I've asked and been told it's no issue to use one of the spare feeds. It might well be different with a third party, but as you say, they won't worry about what they don't know. ;)

    For installers, I'd try either Sky, Yellow Pages or Thomson Local. The ones I used are the ones that have done all the repairs and upgrades here, so they were already known to me. There are several around here though, and I'm out in the sticks (Sussex) so you shouldn't have too much trouble finding someone if you're in the Midlands.

    Paul
     

Share This Page

Loading...