Upgrading the HD in skyplus

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by raigraphixs, Oct 8, 2003.

  1. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    51,168
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +16,008
    Hi,

    How many of you have updated your HD soon after it was originally installed., and not had any problems?


    Where did you get your HD from?.


    ta


    rai
     
  2. IvorBigun

    IvorBigun
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check over on digitalspy.co.uk there are several threads covering this topic.
     
  3. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,539
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,349
    Also check out the current issue of HCC. They have an excellent guide for upgrading the hard disc.

    Greg
     
  4. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    51,168
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +16,008
    Hu,

    HCC, say to be catious about putting in a 120gig drive, due to heat, and noise, etc. Anyone not had any problems?.


    regards


    rai
     
  5. slyborg

    slyborg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
  6. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    51,168
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +16,008
    Hi,

    Still little confused on the HD about IDE or not., would this be one to use?.



    http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/ki.asp?action=info&sku=115560&cks=FRO


    Manufacturer's Part Number:_6Y120M0

    Product Description Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 - hard drive - 120 GB - SATA-150
    Type Hard drive - standard
    Form Factor 3.5" x 1/3H - internal
    Dimensions (WxDxH) 10.2 cm x 14.6 cm x 2.6 cm
    Weight 0.6 kg
    Capacity 120 GB
    Interface Type Serial ATA-150
    Data Transfer Rate 150 MBps
    Average Seek Time 9 ms
    Spindle Speed 7200 rpm
    Cylinders 16383
    Buffer Size 8 MB


    Though a 5400 rpm would be better, due to less heat.
    If anyone has links to drives they are brought, and work fine, let me know. (120gig).


    ta

    rai
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,886
    No that one will not work as it's a S-ATA drive. Looking at the pictures in the link it has to be an IDE drive.
     
  8. slyborg

    slyborg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    If you look at the link I posted there is a link on that page to known working drives etc.
     
  9. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    51,168
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +16,008
    Hi,

    Thanks, is this better ?, wanna get it right before I order!.

    120GB Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9, 3.5" IDE 7200rpm ATA133 HD (6Y120L0)
    PRODUCT CODE 1011-6425

    http://computing.kelkoo.co.uk/shopbot/go.jsp?catId=115801&from=shopbot&merchantId=3616923&pkey=0

    * Fast ATA/Enhanced IDE-Compatible
    * Ultra ATA data transfer speeds up to 133MB/sec
    * 2MB Cache buffer
    * 7200rpm spin speed
    * Average Seek - <9.0ms
    * Average Latency - 4.17ms
    * Acoustics - Idle (sound power:bel - 2.5), Seek (sound power:bel - 3.5)
    * FDB Motors
    * Shock Protection System (SPS)
    * Data Protection System (DPS)

    regards

    rai
     
  10. IvorBigun

    IvorBigun
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :cool:
    That is what i have in mine and works fine, warm but not hot.
     
  11. danny-p

    danny-p
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How much is the above drive as i have three sky+ boxes in my house, (1x old shape upstairs, 1x new shape downstairs and 1x old shape with a damaged hard-drive)
    What happened is the hard drive features stopped working (couldnt pause live tv, couldnt record) after full reset still goosed, so called out tech from sky+ and he brought a replacement box which after installed worked fine......the wierd bit....he packed the faulty box back into its original box and left it behind???????

    My first opinion was that his van was full and he was coming back to collect it....but a year later seems doubtful!!

    So to cut a long story short....would the above hdd work if i replaced the damaged one?
    If yes...then how do i go about it?

    Cheers

    Danny-p
     
  12. slyborg

    slyborg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
  13. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
  14. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Has anyone fitted a 2.5" IDE notebook drive? I have used these in my desktop PC's due to much less noise and heat with great success. I know they are more expensive, with a 60GB coming in around £130 and an 80Gb around £180 but I am considering it as my box is in quite a confined space and gets quite hot.

    You can get adaptors for the IDE cable, power and mounting so that it replaces a 3.5" drive (I've just done one on a miniITX pc) for about £10 from dabs.

    ANyone see any problems with this? Oh, and by the way, with the hard drive fitted to a Sky+ box, is the annoying twirly light on the front supposed to be running all the bloomin time? My HDD is disconnected at the mo and the light stopped.
     
  15. logiclee

    logiclee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Notts, UK.
    Ratings:
    +424
    Steve,

    In sky+ set up you can alter the front display.

    Standard setting ---- The lights twirl during playback etc.
    Demo setting ---- They twirl all the time.
    Off ---- No lights.

    Lee
     

Share This Page

Loading...