Upgrading Power Source and Kef Series Set-Up/ R3 2.1 or R3+ R2C 3.1

SpeakersNSurvivor

Novice Member
Reaction score

Upgrading Power Source and Kef Series Set-Up/ R3 2.1 or R3+ R2C 3.1​

Any help is greatly appreciated--I am a bit of a rookie in the audiophile world. I'm currently running a pair of Kef R3s and an SVS sb1000 which is being powered by a Yamaha AS-501. I'm using them for 50/50 music (records included running an AT-LP120-USB) and videos. My room is about 9x16 and I am sitting about 7 feet from my speakers, but this listening environment is temporary and I plan to have a more optimal listening space soon + I plan for these speakers to be the beginning of a long-term sound setup which may include surround speakers in the future.

I am debating between upgrading my amp to a Hegel H120 or upgrading my speakers to a bigger system (3.1 for now by adding an R2C for a C), which I believe would require me to get an AVR. I've been looking at Marantz SR5015 and Denon AVR-X3700H for this route, but I'm not sold. What would be the best route for the highest quality output? Also, could I add a nice power amp to the potential AVR to power the front speakers later down the road? and would that significantly improve the sound quality or is the AVR responsible for the majority of the sound quality at that point?

What would you do in my position?

Depends where the priority is with respect to 2ch stereo, or Home Theatre? It sounds to me, that wanting highest quality implies improving the 2ch is the approach to take.

I would therefore look at a good quality integrated amp, like the Hegel and others, and make that the first upgrade. Make sure however you go for an integrated that has HT Bypass capability, which means you can add an AVR later and the 2ch integrated amp can remain in the system and drive the Left and Right speakers (with your music sources attached to the integrated still too).