Upgrading my PC is this setup ok?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Garry123, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. Garry123

    Garry123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +246
    Upgrading my PC and was wondering if the bits below are alright and a good price. I've not upgraded in a long time so I'm a bit unsure. Typical reason for upgrading new game runs like a dog.

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6400, 2.13Ghz - £167.90

    ASUS P5B i965 - £97.27

    1Gb (2X512Mb) Corsair TwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC6400 (800), 240 Pin, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 5-5-5-15 - £73.00

    512MB ASUS Radeon X1900 XT PCI-E (x16) - £229.00

    My current set up is: 2.8Ghz Prescott, 1Gb Ram, Nvidia 6800, 120Gb sata Hd.
    Will i notice a big difference?
     
  2. mikeyparkster

    mikeyparkster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    what current power supply unit do you have?

    just so we can say if it may blow up when you plug in the new hardware
     
  3. alphaomega16

    alphaomega16
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    13,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Southend on sea
    Ratings:
    +3,691
    I would get 2x 1GB Sticks
     
  4. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,532
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    agree with alphaomega16 2gb is needed these days
     
  5. Sarah Nya

    Sarah Nya
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could he not upgrade the amount of ram later, maybe he is on a tight budget.

    I think it looks fine to be honest so long as your power supply is okay.
     
  6. Tigerblade

    Tigerblade
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +590
    Is the pope catholic?

    Enjoy ramping all games upto max :thumbsup:
     
  7. sunderland

    sunderland
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,532
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    northeast england
    Ratings:
    +242
    it does look fine was just trying to give him a bit of advice not have a go at him
     
  8. Garry123

    Garry123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +246
    Thanks for all the replies. :thumbsup:

    I was trying to keep the budget to the minimum, which is why I wasn't going for the faster 2.4Ghz processor. i can always upgrade the memory later.

    Power supply from what I can remember is something like 450W possibly 550W. I had to upgrade it last time because of the GFX card. Just had a look but i couldn't see the rating anywhere. Must be hidden at the top. What supply would I need?
     
  9. Sarah Nya

    Sarah Nya
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I didn't mean it to sound like that, I didn't think you were having a go at him :(

    You're right though, 2GB is definately worth it if he can scrimp up a bit more cash :D
     
  10. Garry123

    Garry123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +246
    Also where do you buy your bits from? I normally go to Microdirect. The prices I quoted are from Scan computers.
     
  11. Sarah Nya

    Sarah Nya
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Garry123

    Garry123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +246
    So, do I need a big PSU? Also do I have to double up with DDR2? I'd rather get a single 1GB stick.
     
  13. apolloa

    apolloa
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,313
    I would use Scan, Dabs, Kustompcs, Vadim Computers. I had a freind who used Overclockers once and they screwed it up big time but he could NEVER get to speak to them on the phone, and they used to have a reputation on the net for really bad customer service which is why I don't use them plus there not the cheapest anymore. These day's you need to hunt around ALL the sites for the cheapest prices and DON'T forget to include postage and packaging and that varies. My personal fave is Scan, I got my case and fans from them a couple of years ago and they managed to get it to me on Christmas Eve!!!! even though I ordered it about 3 day's before. Now that's what I call service.
    But like I said even though they are my favourite I would use one of the others if they were cheaper, just shop around for the best prices.
     
  14. Garry123

    Garry123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +246
    Ordered the bits from Microdirect. Never had any problems with them in the past. I ended up with 2GB of RAM. :thumbsup:

    Hope the PSU is up to the new bits. :lease:
     
  15. Repton

    Repton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +135
    Your power supply should be ok, as I don't think your mobo supports ATI Cross Fire or NVidia SLI dual graphics power.
     

Share This Page

Loading...