Upgrading my Dell Inspiron 15R

chocobear

Hi all

I've noticed recently that my laptop is getting a bit sluggish, I've done a defrag and cleared off some space by putting photos on a external hard drive. I use it mainly for surfing the web, playing football manager etc.

I would like to update/upgrade the laptop and make it faster with more hard drive space. As I'm a complete beginner when it comes to computer/laptop builds could you kind people suggest where to start?

Specs
Inspiron N5010 intel i3-370M (2.4ghz) mobile CPU
15.6" display
Memory: 3072mb (1x1024 + 1x2048) 1333mhz DDR3 dual channel
Hard drive: 250gb serial ATA 5400rpm
Battery : Primary 6-cell 48W/HR LI-ION
Graphics : Intel Graphics Media Accelerator HD

Thanks very much

**posted in wrong forum previously**

chocobear

Best choice:
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB - 148,89£ shop
read: 482.2 MB/s
write: 445.2 MB/s

How to upgrade Hard Drive
Tutorial: Youtube
Thanks for that. Would I see a bigger improvement by installing an SSD than getting two new 4gb ram installed?

If I was to install an SSD I would go for the 500gb mark, would the "Crucial CT480M500SSD1 2.5-inch 480GB M500 SATA 6Gb/s Internal Solid State Drive" from amazon work fine in my machine?

Kasp33r

Standard Member
Performance test in CrystalDiskMark 1000 MB:
Crucial M500 480GB
read: 498 MB/s
write: 424 MB/s

Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
read: 537 MB/s
write: 504 MB/s

Crucial M500 480GB - 170£ from Amazon is great deal.You can upgrade Ram? Definitely do it. Unless you need it.

chocobear

Performance test in CrystalDiskMark 1000 MB:
Crucial M500 480GB
read: 498 MB/s
write: 424 MB/s

Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
read: 537 MB/s
write: 504 MB/s

Crucial M500 480GB - 170£ from Amazon is great deal.You can upgrade Ram? Definitely do it. Unless you need it.
Can I not upgrade the ram on this laptop then? Or are you asking if I can afford to? I would like to better the laptop and if that is by installing an ssd and new ram I'll do it

Kasp33r

Standard Member