Upgrading from Sky+ to Sky HD

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by eomel, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. eomel

    eomel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    We currently have a sky+ subscription.

    I've read that you can get the free HD channels (1 - 5) without the HD subscription but can you get these and keep the sky+ subscription?

    If yes, do we need to change our subscription or get a new card for the HD channels to work, or will they work with our existing card and subscription?


    Thanks,
    Eomel
     
  2. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Er, you need a Sky HD box to receive HD Channels, and a HD TV of course.
     
  3. eomel

    eomel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hahah, ooops :blush:

    I forgot to add "If I buy a sky HD box..."

    So,

    If I buy a sky hd box, can I get the free HD channels (1 - 5) without the HD subscription and keep the sky+ subscription?


    Thanks
     
  4. stlic

    stlic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Yes. Once you get your HD Box simply insert your existing card, phone sky so they can pair the card and new box (pretty instant) and you're good to go.
     
  5. eomel

    eomel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brilliant, thanks
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,777
    You can get the free channels because they're free, and they have nothing to do with a subscription.
    Have I missed something in this question? :confused:
     
  7. tinytim

    tinytim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Try giving them a call , the other day I rang to cancel & was offered a 50% subscription reduction or a Sky HD box upgrade. Took the latter for no cost to me, they even had an "engineer" install it. And yes I get the "free" HD channels.
     

Share This Page

Loading...