1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading from PTAE100 to PTAE500/700 projector, big improvement?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by brad123, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. brad123

    brad123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +31
    Hi all hope your all well over here at the AV forums. OK i have a panasonic PTAE100 projector, i got it first day it came out and love it to bits. Thing is now im thinking of upgrading. I will be upgrading to the PTAE500 most probably, does this model have scart input if I remember.

    Also ive just read on here about the PTAE700 coming out, anyone know anything about this, details of it etc.

    Will going from my PTAE100 to a PTAE500/700 be a big leap in quality.

    Ive also got a cheapo compack DVD player for £3 from Safeway so I presume I can further improve the picture and sound quality by getting a decent DVD player, any recommendations.

    Will I be blown away by the leap in quality from a PTAE100 to either the 500 or 700. Do DVD players have the dvi input the 700 has.
     
  2. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    7,225
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +3,494
    I think even upgrading your dvd player to progressive scan /component or a PC would improve the image on the 100!

    I have mine linked to a HCPC and its great - if I was to upgrade I would expect spectacular results!
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes, the 500 has a SCART.

    Plenty of comments on the AE700 in this forum. :)

    Yes, PQ will be significantly better with either, though as Donnacha says, your 100 would benefit from a DVD player upgrade and a 500 or 700 won't give you anything like their best using a basic player like the one you have at present.

    Many DVD players do have DVI, though again many don't. Note that DVI is being replaced by HDMI, if you have a DVD player with such a connector you need to ensure that the projector has either HDMI (still uncommon) or DVI that supports HDCP .. the 500 doesn't have DVI the 700 has HDMI and DVI (though the latter is labelled as a 'PC' input). A DVD player with DVI can be connected to a projector with HDMI.
     
  4. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just upgraded via this route Brad - circumstances/personal expectations will dictate whether or not it's a worthwhile upgrade path for yourself.

    If you aren't going to feed the 500 a better source, I'd say don't bother. That's what decision I came to a couple of months ago. I already had the 100 eating a well tuned HCPC source and was more than happy with the results on DVD. I looked at the 500 a couple of months ago - big thanks to Pantages for giving me a demo - and although I could see it was superior, I wasn't completely convinced the upgrade cost was worthwhile. To others the cost may well be more that wothwhile - it's all personally subjective.

    I liked the lack of screen door and was happy with the "smooth" screen technology, but for me at the time the benefits did not justify the cost to upgrade.

    Two months down the line I started to look at HiDef stuff and was making comparisons between the 100 and my PC monitor. Basically the PC monitor provided a much, much better picture - because of the increased resolution of the monitor, it showed up enormously. Also, the HiDef images on the 100 didn't look to me much better than DVD - Superbit, possibly better, standard, that's all.

    I made a decision that if I were to continue watching HiDef stuff, the 100 was just not good enough. A quick question to members here resulted in confirmation that the 500 would improve the detail and clarity of HiDef stuff no end.

    Anyway, I now have the 500 chomping away on a DVI fed source from my HCPC and on good HiDef material, it's fantastic. The jump for me is amazing. In my own home environment as well, I noticed that the 500 offered a much improved image quality - especially with blacks - this did surprise me, as this was one area I didn't notice when I looked at the 500 a couple of months ago (basically cos' I wasn't viewing it in my own home - which to me will now be a very important factor when I next look to upgrade)

    Not an easy decision Brad - and one really only you can decide. If you can get a demo in your own home, or failing that, take your 100 to demo it against a 500 (so you have both machines on a level playing field), that's the only way for sure you'll convince yourself that's it's a worthwhile upgrade.
     
  5. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    It does have DVI? (....does DVI come in different incarnations?)


    What system do you run Kragorn?
     
  6. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    The Pc input is VGA, so unless DVI and VGA are the same there is no DVI on the 700 although it is possable to get a HDMI to DVI cable.
     
  7. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    Dvi-D = only a digital signal
    Dvi-I = Digital & analog signal (dvi & vga)

    Ae500 has a dvi-d input
     
  8. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    I was referring to the 700
     
  9. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    ...thanks for clearing that one up - thought as much!
     
  10. CTID

    CTID
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Far, Far Away
    Ratings:
    +16
    go on brad, you know you want one! (then sell me your ae100, I'm after one in the classifieds for a music project ;))
     

Share This Page

Loading...