1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading from a A592, £250 ceiling. Please help!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by arallsopp, Apr 17, 2003.

1. arallsopp

arallsopp

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok,

Caveat: Yes I'm a noob. Yes, I've spent some time here searching. No, I've not been able to find an answer to my specific question. Yes, that's probably because I'm a noob....

For the last 2 years or so, I've been running a Pioneer636D dvd player through a Yamaha A592 amplifier to a set of 4 Mission bookshelfs, a Mission seventy something or other centre, and a paradigm pdr10 sub.

The onboard decoder of the 636D feeds the 6 channel input of the amp via 6 phonos. The room has a large tv, but no aerial socket, sky, ntl, cd player, etc. This is a DVD only room (at the moment). To my ears, the amp makes a decent enough noise, but
    only really pulls itself together when above 25% volume. Below this, its all a bit supressed and odd.

Now the fun bit: Through tenuous circumstance, I've just been offered £100 for the A592. I'm very much considering taking this option, and adding £100-£150 of my own to get a better amp for the room. Question is, do you think £200-£250 of modern amp would give a better result than the existing setup? Is £100 a fair price for the A592 (am I or him being rude?)?

At the top of my budget (I think) is the Yamaha DSPAX630, although I'm pretty desparate to find one under £250. Looking equally attractive is the RXV430RDS at Richers for £179, which may be a better bang per buck, as such. I don't think I really need prologic II, as I'm only ever playing DTS or DD5.1 through her. I do have some DD mono and stereo films, if that matters?

I'm also eyeing the Marantz offerings, but I don't really know much about their amps as yet.