Upgrading from 512Mb to 1.5Gb Ram what will I notice different??

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Ned Senior, May 29, 2008.

  1. Ned Senior

    Ned Senior
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stalag 9
    Ratings:
    +1,165
    Hi I am waiting for a 1 gig stick to arrive from crucial for my old friendly pc..
    what differences will I notice to performance of the trusty old girl after I have fitted it??
    Will it only show when I am messing with photo's etc ?? or when surfing too??

    cheers folks

    Ned
     
  2. Triggster

    Triggster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +9
    Should be able to multitask better as you can have several programs open at once, possibly slighlty faster boot-up/shut down times etc.

    Good upgrade. :thumbsup:
     
  3. Ned Senior

    Ned Senior
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stalag 9
    Ratings:
    +1,165
    Cool I've held out for a long while eh!!
    Postman has just delivered it now

    thanks for that

    regards
    Ned
     
  4. ldoodle

    ldoodle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,018
    Hi

    Yes will see improvement but I would suggest taking the 512MB stick out and replacing with another 1GB stick that you have already put in, to give you 2GB.

    RAM works better when installed with identical sizes and depending on motherboard different channels.
     
  5. twentyone

    twentyone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +16
    Also the old stick may run at a slower speed than the new one. Your computer automatically adjusts to suit slowest chip.
     
  6. Ned Senior

    Ned Senior
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stalag 9
    Ratings:
    +1,165
    Righto Folks thanks for your comments
    Install was a doodle but found it easier with the machine lying on it's side!!!...
    Touched one of the chips and thought poo that's blown it
    powered up and 1.5 gig is showing

    DID seem to boot quicker BTW but shutdown was same as Before ( no worries tho')

    I take on board about the extra 1 GB stick that I should get; would have got one this time but had no money (BILLS BILLS BILLS flippin' BILLS haho)

    Will see how we go over the next few days/week as I do not really want to spend too much on a machine that is near 6 years old AMD Athlon XP 2800 compaq presario S3190UK

    anyhow

    thanks for your interest people :)
     
  7. Ned Senior

    Ned Senior
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stalag 9
    Ratings:
    +1,165
    One other question folks...??
    Should I have switched the 512 to slot B and put the 1gig in the first slot??
    or will it be fine the other way around??

    It will be end of June before I get another 1 gig stick if I actually do get one!!
     
  8. badbob

    badbob
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +318
    I wouldn't bother adding more memory now, 1.5GB is fine for XP. 2800 Athlon CPU is holding you back, so save some money for a PC upgrade, if you need the power (gaming or general windows power user)
     
  9. Gow87

    Gow87
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    May I just add to to conversation, as mentioned 1.5Gb should be fine for now. and dual channel memory offers little tangeable benefits in most applications. I believe toms hardware did a test a while back and the gain was about 2%. so if you have a choice of more memory or matched memory always go for more.
     
  10. Labby

    Labby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well if you do get a new stick later on, then match it to your new one. You might as well get the most out of it.
     
  11. Ned Senior

    Ned Senior
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stalag 9
    Ratings:
    +1,165
    Thanks all of you for your advice..
    I don't know how long it will take but,
    I intend to find a local night school course on building a pc and learn how to make one
    Just so that I can say I have done and can do it myself.

    Will probably stick to the 1.5 GB added to this one as it's fairly expensive at 27 pound per 1 gig stick for what is essentially an ancient machine

    Thanks again
    Ned
     
  12. Old_Biker_John

    Old_Biker_John
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Exeter, Devon
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi Ned Senior,

    Before you spend potential system funds on evening classes, have a look at a few technical websites. They often provide well illustrated, step-by-step guides on how to choose components and assemble them into the perfect machine for your budget.

    A typical example of such an article would be this link. I am sure that a quick online search would give you many more similar choices.

    If you feel that the simple explanations give you confidence to try a build using them for guidance, you can increase your system's budget a bit.:)

    You have already taken an important step towards DIY construction by successfully installing extra RAM in your existing system.:thumbsup:

    If not, you will have some knowledge to start you off on your evening classes.

    Good luck with whatever you choose to do.:)

    John.
     
  13. Ned Senior

    Ned Senior
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,818
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stalag 9
    Ratings:
    +1,165
    Thanks John.. had a read through that link and thought that there is probably a video out there somewhere with similar instructions on so will have a google later

    Thanks again

    Ned
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice