1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

upgrade

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by dennis, Aug 28, 2003.

  1. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    hi all,
    i have amd 1800xp evesham pc with asus a7v266-e mobo,can someone tell me what the max cpu i can upgrade to without any messing around ,i am not an expert but can manage most things but dont want to mess around with bios etc.
    thanks
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have a look at the Asus site ;)

    That's a 133 fsb mainboard IIRC, so not compatible with newer 166/200 fsb "Barton" CPUs, not without a BIOS update anyway.

    BIOS updating isn't as difficult as you might think.

    Given the cost of new hardware these days, a mainboard & CPU upgrade might be a better option.



    :smoke:
     
  3. james.miller

    james.miller
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +143
    it definatly is a better option. An NF7-S and an xp1700 will outperform that pc with any cpu.
     
  4. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    thank's for help fella's it looks like a new mobo and cpu are the way to go as i really want something like a xp3000+ to play doom3 type games when they come out.but im a bit scared of going this deep into my pc:rolleyes:
     
  5. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,425
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    You'll also need a powerfull graphics card to get the best from the games like doomiii. What card do you currently have?

    With regard to upgrading components (mobo and cpu) you shouldn't have any problems with the change over but you'll probably have to look at buying more ram to utilise the dual channel ddr functionality of the NF7-S Nforce 2 boards. You may need to upgrade your power supply if it's <350watts.
     
  6. Zef

    Zef
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Sorry to butt in but Im looking to upgrade Mobo and cpu, but how will Windows XP o/s handle this ?.

    Cheers
     
  7. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    thank's hawklord,i have gforce 4ti 128meg,and i have 1024 ram!should be ok.
     
  8. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,425
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Your usually recomended to do a os reinstall for new mobos so you'll have to format your hard drive reinstall windows xp and all drivers relating to hardware.
     
  9. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,425
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    I can't imagine you having too many probs with that spec but hopefully the new games will be scaleable anyhow. We might just have to reduce the res or switch a few of the eye candy options off. Still hopefully with my spec (Xp2800+ 1024 pc 3200 ddr dual channel with a radeon 9700 pro and nf7-s mobo) it'll look the dogs dangalies.:devil:
     
  10. Pulsar

    Pulsar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands - Stourbridge
    Ratings:
    +288
    Another vote here for the NF7-S mobo. Mine has been rock solid stability wise, and is sooo fast. IMO, to get the best value out of this mobo, you should find a Athlon XP1700 or XP1800 that can be overclocked easily. I have a JUIHB XP1700 running at 2400 Mhz. This processor, when combined with fast RAM (In my case Corsair XMS) will give very impressive results.

    Have a look yourself, a google search should give some useful info.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  11. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,425
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    or go to www.overclockers.co.uk forums for any advice/research- I've found them to be an invalueable source of information.
     

Share This Page

Loading...