Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Upgrade to Sky+ Will I Get New Dish?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Anastie, Aug 25, 2003.

  1. Anastie

    Anastie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,960
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +208
    I have had my sky digibox for over a year and wish to upgrade to Sky+. When they put my present system in this house there was already a dish up (A little bigger, but same shape as a mini dish) so they said I did not need a new dish. The signal strangth is never above a third.
    If I upgrade to Sky+ will they fit a new dish with it being a new contract?
    Thanks
     
  2. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    No. Although you should get the technician to re-align the dish.
     
  3. jambodoug

    jambodoug
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ..and you get a new transponder thingy which brings in the dual signal..
     
  4. Rock Da Bass

    Rock Da Bass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    EU
    Ratings:
    +753
    I got a new dish when I upgraded from Sky to Sky + though I've no idea why as I wasn't in at the time (the missus didn't ask too many questions of the installer)

    Not sure if this helps, but shows it does happen in some circumstances.

    RDB :)
     
  5. Anastie

    Anastie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,960
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +208
    Thanks for the help I suppose I can ask when I put the order in. No harm in that.
    I have read on here that there may be a new sky+ out soon. Is it worth the wait and are you people happy with yours?
     
  6. John_sg0107

    John_sg0107
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very happy with my Sky + and I simply could not live without it !.
    enjoy it ! :smashin:
     
  7. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    I got a new dish..smaller more cosy!!
     
  8. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    I also got a new dish -- but only after I complained of picture breakup with the original install of Sky+.

    The second installer -- who got my Signal Quality setting to nearly 100% on his sat-meter -- said that the arm length was wrong for the new quad LNB and a new dish was really required but the first installer was too lazy to do it (hence Signal Quality in the 50% or less zone).

    Since getting new dish, and a tweaked install, the PQ on Sky+ is much better than my old Sony digibox on old dish&LNB.

    StooMonster
     
  9. 7Seven

    7Seven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a friend who bought the Sky+ digibox when it was £300 and when the price dropped within a couple of months, was compensated with a month or two's free viewing (his monthly sub waived for a month or two).

    What I want to know is if he had bought his Sky+ digibox from a Sky Authorised Independent Installer/Retailer (e.g. from the Yellow Pages) and not directly from Sky, would he have been compensated the same way, or would he have had to take the matter up with the Sky Authorised Independent Installer/Retailer?

    Also, are there any rights I should be aware of regarding this matter?

    Thanks guys.
     
  10. 7Seven

    7Seven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone do me a favour and fone up Universal Communications on 0800 294 0544 (free) or 01277 229 292 (national, free on some Mobile timeplans off-peak) and ask the following questions:

    1) What's the current price of Sky+ Digibox and price of installation?
    2) If Sky drop their price to £150, will they drop theirs to AROUND the same price at least and by how much?

    If they ask where you got their number, say cai.org.uk (CAI website, NOT CIA!) Thank you guys, you're the best!!!
    They know my voice, I've hassled them constantly! Thanks again!!!
     
  11. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if the LNB is interchangeable so you should get a new dish,or at least a new LNB which has 4 outputs.2 for Sky+,and the other ones could be for another digibox,or you could run a cable to a new receiver for SCT-is it still on 28east?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice