1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade to HTPC worth it with a CRT projector?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by TheFatBoy, Apr 25, 2005.

  1. TheFatBoy

    TheFatBoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Having read a tiny bit about HTPC, I was initially thinking it might be a good idea to help me hide everything away from prying 17-month old fingers and give me a boost in image quality at the same time...

    But then, I was reading about matching the output resolution to the resolution of the digital projector and it made me wonder if there would be any image quality gains when using a CRT projector like I am - and a CRT projector that isn't able to take progressive scan at that!?

    Any clues?
     
  2. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi TFB

    plenty of people use HTPCs to get great results with CRT projectors. What make/model is it?
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    I'd expect that if it can't take a progressive signal then you're going to be out of luck. If it can then it's worth investigating

    Gordon
     
  4. TheFatBoy

    TheFatBoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry, I couldn't remember the model number yesterday!

    Have had a look now, it's a Seleco 350. I'm 99% sure it won't take progressive as standard, but I don't know if there's some sort of plug-in module to add it on?

    If it can't take progressive, there's little point in going to the expense/hassle of building an HTPC? I'm unlikely to change the projector - they don't sell too well and the amount I'd get for it now wouldn't offset the cost of an upgrade very much - so if HTPC won't make any difference, I'll stick with my current DVD player.
     
  5. David PluggedIn

    David PluggedIn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    I dont think there is anything that can be done with that model An HTPC would give you other HTPC features of course such as convergence (no, not that kind of convergence, the 'many devices in one box' kind :))
    But realistically, as you looking for PQ improvements then the HTPC wont be able to help I'm afraid..
     
  6. TheFatBoy

    TheFatBoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +1
    I wonder if there's a way of getting progressive into the PJ... IIRC, the next model up (SVP400?) could take progressive but was the same as the 350 apart from that - perhaps I could buy a 400 with busted tubes and swap over the other bits...

    I think I'll stick a post in the CRT section and see if anyone's got any ideas :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...