Upgrade the HDD on my Sky+HD

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by tintin jones, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
    Folks,

    Not sure if there is recent thread on this (i couldnt find one). I am looking to get a 1/2TB drive to put in my Sky+HD box and i'm just wondering what drive would be the best? i currently have the standard 500gig drive and i find i have to keep deleting stuff as herself has every bit of rubbish series linked (most of it in HD no less).

    I found contradicting information on the different drives so just wondering what my friends here at AVFORUMS think. Are there any downsides to upgrading the HDD? (i.e navagation speed etc) and what drives would people recommend makes/speeds etc?

    Cheers

    :thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,767
    I'd get Sky to give me a new PVR, either literally, or for less than the cost of the drive - and the hassle of fixing it.:)
     
  3. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
    Hmmmm so do i pretend theres something wrong with the HDD in my DRX890 and see if sky will send replacement for money or else for free? :confused:

    I'm totally open to whatever get my more storage haha
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,767
    That you already have the 890 does make a difference but you can always ask.
    I recommend the message form at MySky for this sort of thing.
     
  5. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
    Wow i did not know this!!! Does this apply to Ireland aswell? i'll have a look now. anything in particular i need to say?
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013
  6. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Yes! "I record more TV than I will ever view and it keeps growing!"
     
  7. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
    haha!! i sent off a message there lets see what comes back
     
  8. larkone

    larkone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,276
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    North Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,183
    If you upgrade the drive there is a utility for copying across your existing content. If you get a new box from Sky you will loose all of your existing content.
     
  9. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
    Thats a chance i'm willing to take ha
     
  10. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
    Sky just rang me there.
    They offered me the 2TB box for €209 euro including installation. Or else i can take multiroom and they will drop it to €109 plus €15 extra per month (deal breaker for me).

    There is no self install option in Ireland god dammit so looks like i'll be purchasing a new HDD for my current sky box...the question is now what one to get???
     
  11. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
  12. rayferry

    rayferry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +133
  13. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
    Dam i thought the DRX890 once it had the "Darwin" update meant it was ok to just plug and play as such. My bad

    Cheers for the advice folks. Just before i order the HDD though is that the best option for 2TB size?
     
  14. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Try emptying/deleting some of the stuff, (that you will never watch again), and consider is it worth spending more money. As said before, you are recording far more than you are watching - otherwise you would not be filling up your HD, and, as soon as you stop your subscription all your recordings are lost.....
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013
  15. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
    You see i usually delete as i go along apart from some films i still havent got around to watching but the other half has every soap in the land on series link and builds them all up so there could be 8/9 of each soap taking up valuable space. I'd just like the freedom of not having to constantly delete stuff incase something doesnt record cause there's a two week old episode of cornation street that she just HAS to watch! haha. /rant

    I get your point though if this was just me i probably wouldnt need to upgrade the HDD :)
     
  16. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    You/she will never watch everything on even a 500GB drive - why waste the money?
     
  17. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,767
    I've saved a lot of recordings, but my 1tB is still not full after almost three years.
     
  18. tintin jones

    tintin jones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ratings:
    +287
    I dont think i got my point across! i'm watching everything i'm deleting its just that i feel under pressure to watch something because i know there are 5/6 programmes each day that are series linked and it fills up fast. I'm just looking for justification for a shiny new 2TB box haha.

    I think 1TB would probably do but as i'm upgrading the HDD i was thinking why not future proof a bit and throw a 2TB one in.

    Anyway thanks for all the replies
     
  19. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Well there you go, you have reached a happy balance between what you record and what you watch. HD size has nothing to do with it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...