Upgrade of Home Theatre System

lithepj

Standard Member
Not an absolute beginner but could do with some advice. I have been thinking about upgrading my A/V Receiver and Speakers as everything moves on so rapidly. My TV is relatively new an LG OLED55C8PLA although I have just realised it does not have an eARC facility. My current receiver is an Onkyo TX-NR609 (9/10 years old) and the Speaker set up is even older a Bose Acoustimass 15 with small cube speakers (5.1).

I currently have a SKY Q Box (with UHD subscription) and Bluray Disc player (limited to 1080p). Both are connected direct to the TV via HDMI cables and then a HDMI cable back from the TV using ARC back to the A/V Receiver. You have a choice on the digital sound input of “Auto” or “PCM”. The output seems to differ on “Auto” presumably dependent on the Input but on “PCM” it always outputs PCM. I have it on “Auto” but I’m not sure which would be best.

I am not that concerned about the Bluray player as I rarely watch films that way anymore. I play music via a USB drive connected directly to the A/V Receiver. I watch both Netflix (direct subscription at the dearest rate but not via Sky subscription) and Amazon Prime via the Apps on the Sky Q Box.

I guess my question is what would I gain by upgrading the A/V Receiver and/or new speakers? Would it just be a gain from a better quality of product(s) or for instance would I gain by directly connecting the Sky Q Box to a new A/V Receiver rather than using ARC.

My current speakers are connected by speaker wire (supplied with the Bose system) laid under a karndean floor. For neatness, I am not sure whether I could reuse the existing speaker wiring or again whether this would “degrade” the sound from new speakers. I guess wireless speakers are another option.

Any advice or suggestions on products would be greatly appreciated.

BigChopper