1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade MCE 2004 to MCE 2005 ?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by JWR88, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. JWR88

    JWR88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have MCE 2004 installed and working fine.
    I now have the media for MCE 2005.

    How do I initiate the upgrade?
    Do I just run setup and reinstall over 2004?

    Thanks,
    James
     
  2. robpow

    robpow
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not the reply you were looking for but personally I always prefer a re-format and fresh install if I can, nothing like a good spring clean of the PC to get rid of all those odd bits and pieces clogging up the PC.

    I divided up the hard disk in my MCE PC in two, one 20GB for MCE and a 300GB partition for the video files. That way I can re-install MCE without losing the recordings.

    Matt
     
  3. JWR88

    JWR88
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Matt

    Thanks for the reply - I will just give it a try and re-install

    James
     

Share This Page

Loading...