Upgrade advice

Discussion in 'What Speakers Should I Buy?' started by avfmaniac, Feb 9, 2014.

1. avfmaniac

avfmaniac
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I am a newbie in the HT, yet I appreciate good sound. My current HT setup consists of:

Denon 2113
    Polk Monitor 40s (F/L)
    Polk CS1 center
    Polk Monitor 30s (surrounds)
    SVS PB-1000 subwoofer

This setup is for movies and music in a condo living room which is generally pretty small 4m x 5m. I do not listen at reference levels ever... the most I turn up the volume on the AVR is 55-60 trying to be mindful of the neighbors. I am pretty happy with the setup and have had it only for a year. Now, I do not know if I am getting bored, or simply need to stop reading the forums and speaker reviews, but I have gotten into my head that I want to upgrade my front speakers with ones which are 1) bookshelf with 6 1/2 woofer 2) front ported 3) neutral sounding [​IMG]

I am generally after the most transparent, neutral sound. But the more I read, the more I find that this would be impossible due to coloration on speakers, receivers, room gain. E.g. I read that a denon receiver is warmer (less forward) as opposed to a yamaha. This would Imply that I would have to have slightly brighter speakers to get to the neutral sound [​IMG] Would not Audissey MultiEQ help if a speaker is bright or does not have enough bass?

So, could you guys convince me I need to upgrade if I am missing a lot with the 40s or stick with what I have? Upgrades I am considering are Polk RTiA3s, or Monitor Audio BX2.

2. smasher50

smasher50

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +56