1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

updating old games

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by jelly, Jul 18, 2004.

  1. jelly

    jelly
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    hi chaps yesterday i bought igi2 rtcwolfenstein ee and roge spear platinum pack @ £20 for all 3 but i am having trouble patching then to the current version mostly am having bother with rtcw ee ive downloaded the patch , ran it and it tells me that the game cant be found?? any help would be gr8
     
  2. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1,081
    did you buy them legitimately? sorry to ask that, but if they are copies then updating them won't work.
     
  3. jelly

    jelly
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    bought from game notts3@£20
     
  4. ELV

    ELV
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2001
    Messages:
    650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Up in the proper north
    Ratings:
    +9
    Is it the UK patch?
    Some games have patches for the different versions, other than that no idea, have you played the game before installing the patch ? Maybey a bad installation but it would tell you so it's probally not that, other than that not sure mate.
     
  5. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1,081
    Well there is a rare occurance that a company modifies their game when they release it as budget, which then stops the patches working on it, kinda like when an oem dvd writer comes out and none of the retail firmware works on it (nice one Sony), but the chances of all 3 games having that problem is pretty slim.

    It actually sounds like you may have a registry problem, because the registry is where the game looks to find out if it's been installed properly. Do you have multiple users on your PC? If so, is there a chance the game was installed when a different user was logged on, and that it was installed just for that user and not all users?

    Also, I'll ask this question even though it's slightly insulting, but working in IT as long as i have, you learn you sometimes have to ask the insulting questions.. you have installed the game before running the patch haven't you?
     
  6. jelly

    jelly
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    nottingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    ye done all that has anyone played rogue spear platinum on xp the case says its for all os but the website says for me 98 95
     
  7. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was gonna say that it sounds like the games may not be xp compatable, getting the patch wont make it work, you need to find the windows xp patch. pretty hard to find sometimes, ive tried with halflife blueshift and colin mcrae rally for the pc. cant get them to run at all
    :(
     
  8. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1,081
    have you tried running those games in Windows 98 compatibility mode?
    and also, you're not using the windows xp default video drivers are you cos they don't support openGL and Blue shift is opengl i think.
     
  9. DooBee

    DooBee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Let us hope he has :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...