Updating old Frankenstein Home Theater Setup

DJHelow

Standard Member
Hey everyone!

I am new to the foums and I am looking to update my current home theater setup and reuse my sub if possible.

My sub is an old automotive Alpine type R 300W RMS 1000 w max and wired for 2 ohms. It is currently running off an automotive alpine 500w amp and a 850w computer power supply.

If attempting to use this automotive sub with the new system does not make since, I will be interested in replacing it.

I could use some recommendations for
  • A new receiver with the ability to expand to wireless 5 or 7 channel surround
  • New front bookshelf speakers
  • Center speaker
  • Solution for this sub situation
    • Dedicated home theater amp
    • Or receiver that can power it
    • Or ditch this idea altogether and purchase a dedicated home theater sub
Thank you everyone for your recommendations.

gibbsy

Modern receivers work on a passive speaker, up to thirteen channels and LFE mono connection to one or two powered subs. It would be impossible to hook up a passive sub to a modern receiver.

gibbsy

Welcome to the Forum.

DJHelow

Standard Member
Modern receivers work on a passive speaker, up to thirteen channels and LFE mono connection to one or two powered subs. It would be impossible to hook up a passive sub to a modern receiver.

Awesome, that is very helpful. Could I get an amp for the sub to basically turn that sub into an active speaker?

gibbsy

You would need to have an amp that has LFE input and I don't know of any. I would imagine such a set up would be difficult to EQ into the system and most modern subs do integrate via the receiver's EQ systems, such as the Audyssey found on Marantz and Denon models very well indeed.

By the time you bought a new amp, if you're able to find one, then that will not be far off the cost of a new powered sub and the benefits it would bring.

DJHelow

Standard Member