Update your new Jasper

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by pure_geordie, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. pure_geordie

    pure_geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +60
    Hello Chaps. Basic question with a basic answer. Before I download and install the latest software patch 2.0.7363.0 from microsoft is it safe to do so?

    Ta.
     
  2. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    My Jasper Acarde box updated itself last night, and seems to work fine
     
  3. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    well, unless you plan on playing offline for ever, theres no getting round it.
    these updates are forced on you, and theres no getting round it.
    if anything intoward happens, your covered either by the retailer,or by microsoft.
     
  4. pure_geordie

    pure_geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +60
    It doesn't go online as I don't have any use for it. So is it worth it?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  5. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    in that case, not really, no.
    its all bells and whistles really,nothing of any use if offline is what you plan on doing.
    but, if you have a problem with a game, and it needs a patch/update, then live is the only place to get it, but you would have to update the console first..so take that into effect.
    the update will eat a good portion of your onboard memory(i assume you dont have an xbox with a memory card, as its a jasper), so be prepared to either buy a memory card or hard drive in the near future.
     
  6. mattclarkie

    mattclarkie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Real guitars don't have strings, they have 5 colou
    Ratings:
    +934
    Without an HDD you have to download game patches everytime you play the game, or that is what I have been told, that would be annoying.


    I personally recommend keeping devices updated, and all future retail games(gold after NXE launch) will ship with the NXE and force you to update anyway.
     
  7. pure_geordie

    pure_geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +60
    OK Thanks you for your advices.

    I'll go ahead and download and install anyway.:rolleyes: I just thought that since it is working OK I don't want to brick it. I've heard that the latest patch breaks it.

    see here: Mandatory update that fixes HDMI audio issues caused by the New Xbox Experience update.[5]
    NOTE: Update has been reported to brick to your console.

    Xbox 360 System Software - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


    Thanks.
     
  8. mattclarkie

    mattclarkie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Real guitars don't have strings, they have 5 colou
    Ratings:
    +934
    Every update bricks your console, there is not a single 360 patch that hasn't 'bricked' a console.
     
  9. pure_geordie

    pure_geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +60
    Bricked a console. Doesn't that mean Break, rendering it in-operable. I'd rather not do the update then.
     
  10. WillieCocker

    WillieCocker
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Ratings:
    +111
    The term "bricked" is used to describe a console that is rendered useless/in need of repair after an update.
     
  11. delucep

    delucep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +984
    Bricked does indeed mean break..

    As Matt said, every time M$ release a patch a small percentage of consoles brick on or very quickly afterwards.. Normally (but not always) these are older consoles.
     
  12. pure_geordie

    pure_geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +60
    So bottom line is.

    Update AYOR

    Reading a few of the threads here I think I'll just leave it as is.

    If its not broke don't fix it.:D
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  13. WillieCocker

    WillieCocker
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Ratings:
    +111
    No bottom line is, you must update to use the 360 as it was designed, and you should only really worry if you have a launch console or one older than 2 years or so.
     
  14. pure_geordie

    pure_geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +60
    OK I see. Just bought my new japser model only the other day.

    I'll not worry about it.

    Ta
     
  15. WillieCocker

    WillieCocker
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Ratings:
    +111
    I certainly wouldn't.
    My year old Elite is going strong with no problems at all.
     
  16. pure_geordie

    pure_geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +60
    Just out of interest what does the latest patch consist of.

    Is it going to make it quieter and run faster:D

    It will also half my memory of 256MB as well:(
     
  17. AdsterUK

    AdsterUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +81
    It fixes audio problems using a HDMI lead.

    Personally I have no problem doing any updates, you generally hear second hand reports of tens or possibly hundreds of people who have a problem with an update, thats out of the millions who own a 360 console.
     
  18. pure_geordie

    pure_geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +60
    I Don't have audio problems using an HDMI lead. I have had problems doing updates with the xbox before.

    I'm obviously being over cautious because I did have an eggbox 360 about 2 years ago and it broke after an update and now I have a new one so i'm a bit worried.

    But what the hell what could possibly go wrong.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  19. Chrisoldinho

    Chrisoldinho
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +267
    I'm running a release day Xbox Core and I have downloaded every update to date.

    Had it RROD on me once but this was nothing to do with an update.

    Every console runs a small risk of getting "bricked" when updating, but:

    A) MS aren't going to knowingly release a patch that will brick your Xbox and it will of been tested to the Nth degree so i'm sure you'll be fine.
    B) The consoles that usually get bricked are the result of someone doing something stupid like turning the power off during an update / electricity going off.
    C) Jasper units are much much better than the older chipsets so again, chances reduced
    D) Updates are there for a reason, they fix something wrong. Be it a simple HDMI audio fix through to a whole new Dashboard.
    E) Even if you do only go offline surely it's good to know your running the latest software that has hotfixes against any issue previously.

    Updating is an inevitable part of today's computing market and something can always go wrong. But even if the worst did ever happen (99.99999% won't) then you can always get it repaired FOC by MS for 3 years or your local retailer for 1 year usually and if a 3 year old Core 360 can update no probs after so much abuse over the years (500 hours+ in COD4 alone, 300 hours on WaW and atleast this on COD3, PGR3, Orange Box to name but a few combined) then i'm sure a brand spanking new Jasper can take it!

    Chris.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  20. pure_geordie

    pure_geordie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +60
    OK, but am I right in saying I will lose 128MB after the update. leaving me with 128MB, As I don't have a HDD.

    Could I also uninstall some features of the update to give me back more HD space?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  21. mattclarkie

    mattclarkie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Real guitars don't have strings, they have 5 colou
    Ratings:
    +934
    Every update that has ever been released has bricked something. Somebody will always have a bad update, from MP3 players, to TVs, to games consoles, changing the firmware is risky.
     
  22. xox Godders xox

    xox Godders xox
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +316
    No, afraid not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...