1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Update RAM Firmware For Burner

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by GASJKH2, Feb 2, 2005.

1. GASJKH2

GASJKH2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help Please

:lease:

I have bought a Panasonic E85 recently based on all the great help & advice I received from this excellent forum & am very pleased with this Recorder - a truly great machine.

I am unable though to read RAM discs when loaded onto my PC as I wish to edit etc using siftware on PC - TMPEG etc.

I am using a Mat****a SR-8585 (Panasonic) DVD ROM to read the discs & then wish to burn onto DVD- discs after editing.
    My DVD ROM though wont read the RAM discs (Panasonic)
    Does the firmware need updating? Nero Infotool shows 1S29 Firmware installed which means nothing to me.
    If so, how do I update the firmware as I have never done this before - I am a beginner to all this IT stuff so I need some help from someone.

2. SDHoward

SDHoward
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    You probably need a dvd-ram driver although if your using windows xp it should have one built in.. The firmware shouldn't be a problem

3. GASJKH2

GASJKH2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am running Windows XP with SP2 installed, should I need to update the driver & hwo do I do it?

THE DVD ROM is confirmed by Nero Infotool as being able to read RAM also.

Advice & help please !!!!

4. joegib

joegib

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    I'm running 3 models of Toshiba RAM capable drives on separate XP machines and I didn't need to install drivers for any of them. One gave me trouble initially (the oldest, a Tosh 1612) but cleaning the laser lens solved the problem.