1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unwelcome Subtitles on Denon 500SD

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by braiden, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. braiden

    braiden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +47
    Hi

    Watched my first film on my new 500SD which I only set up today, and half way through the film the subtitles flashed up for about five seconds being displayed at the top and bottom of the screen.

    I know it has already been discussed here but was wondering if anyone knows why it happens or if anyone has had a remedy from Denon themselves :confused:

    Great forum by the way :smashin:

    Braiden
     
  2. Smiffy 2

    Smiffy 2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Bexhill on Sea
    Ratings:
    +167
    Braiden
    as you quite rightly say, this HAS been mentioned before.
    I must be honest and say I had this happen ONCE, (the first time I used my Denon), but since then it hasn't happened again.
    Rob
     
  3. Strangerer

    Strangerer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your machine multi region? I don't think Denon would know anything about your query if the firmware update is causing this glitch.
     
  4. wicket

    wicket
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +10
    I don't thing the problem is multiregional as Oldschool here, has one which isn't multiregional and he has experienced the problem.

    Personally I wouldn't worry about it. I have a multiregional machine and I think it has happened to me about 3 times. I thought it was more to do with the disc itself than the machine.
     
  5. nathanhill69

    nathanhill69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    I've had my Denon since September and it's happened about two times in total - I also thought it was either down to the disc or maybe the layer changing over? Funnily, I recall it happening on the first DVD I watched but that's possibly pure coincidence.

    Anyway, on my part I'm not that worried about it as it hasn't happened enough times for me to regard it as a problem.

    Nathan
     
  6. braiden

    braiden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +47
    Thanks guys, Really glad to hear it does not happen to often. I'm Really pleased with this system so far great sound and picture!!

    :hiya:

    Braiden
     
  7. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    In my experience the subtitle issue has got worse and worse...the system in question has already been returned once to Denon and received back by me with "no fault found" - this doesn't suggest to me that Denon itself is taking this problem seriously at all. :thumbsdow

    The system in question is currently with Denon again and if no repair is evident I will refuse to accept it and probably change it too a 550SD, (but since I have too deal with the unhelpful sods in Currys to do this, I'm not looking forward to it).

    It's a shame as the sytem when working is awesome!

    I shall let you all know the outcome...I would be grateful if anyone else has found a fix they would ley me know also as I'd really would like to keep my Denon (it took me long enough to find)

    PS:- Sorry to be a party pooper!
     
  8. Smiffy 2

    Smiffy 2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Bexhill on Sea
    Ratings:
    +167
    You're certainly not a party pooper!
    Keep us posted on the official Denon stance.
    Although my system hasn't displayed this problem again, it would be nice to know what the Denon "backup" is like, as this is my first venture into their brand name.
    Just don't mention "Samsung" to me!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    Rob
     
  9. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Denon are still not admitting to a fault via snail mail or email...they will however state it's being investigated when pushed on the phone.

    just received a replacement from Currys (who actually lost the orginal), so fingers crossed.

    Must say Currys (although slow) were quite good as they offered me an exchange / different model (which they didn't have to do as no fault is proven as yet), since they don't do they 550SD I took a straight replacement.

    Rest assured if I get the old subtiltle issue back I will be writing staright to Denon!
     
  10. nathanhill69

    nathanhill69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Sorry to hear you had the subtitle problem so severely. I noted you stated it seemed to get worse and worse - just to offer you some positive light, I've had the 500 since September (which is probably a little longer than many) and have only had the subtitle issue happen on two or three occasions in total (and a lot of DVD's viewed), and also only very quickly. Although it is obviously a quirk of the system it sounds like you got very un-lucky indeed to make it so un-bearable, for me personally twice in six months is totally acceptable.

    I'm assuming you're not watching "backed up DVD's" but well maintained own copies and rentals - hopefully this system will serve you better.

    Good luck

    Nathan
     
  11. Radg

    Radg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you back up your DVD's you can remove the subtitles completely. Problem solved :eek:
     
  12. lightbulb

    lightbulb
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +50
    are there any particular titles that people are watching that cause subtitles to appear and others that dont or is it a random occurrence?
     
  13. Conn

    Conn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +170
    I have just had it happen for about 5 seconds on R2 DareDevil (chapter 29 at around 01:28:00). Could not get it to replicate the glitch. Only other time I have had it is on R0 DeadZone TV series.

    Not sure if it is coincidence or not, but both times it seems to have been near the end of the disc...
     
  14. OldSkoO1

    OldSkoO1
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Final Destination 2 - 3/4 way through
    Pearl Harbour - 5 mins from the end
    Fast and Furious - chapter 6

    Couple of others aswell. Im using the default firmware, but it seems that it happens less often on the mult-region f/w. Thats just basic conclusion ive come to.
     
  15. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    All - got back a brand new 500SD with multiregion firmware...SAME PROBLEM.

    To be honest, now I know it's a generic issue it doesn't bother me so much (before I felt I was being "picked" on). I had the option of swapping for different device but apart from the subtitle issue I'm very impressed with the Denon (especially with an active sub and 6.1) :)

    Could I ask people who have the subtitle issue to just post what connection type they are using...perhaps this is a factor as you have to configure this in OSD (perhaps progressive scan on component fixes the issue etc)?

    I myself have a RGB scart connector
     
  16. braiden

    braiden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +47
    Hi mine is set to output component, funnily enough it's never happened in progressive scan mode!!! :rolleyes:

    although about a month back I was messing about with the remote and happened to press the subtitle button at the bottom and although I did not have the subtitles on, it stated on the display that they were :eek:

    So I pressed the subtitle button a few times and they came up on screen pressed again said they were still on but had dissappeared from the screen. I then pressed the button again and it stated subtitle off, and not had the problem since.

    I know it sounds confusing but can anyone else tell if they get the same messages.
     
  17. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Braiden - I shall try tonite mate!
     
  18. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Nope, nothing - sorry
     
  19. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Chaps, it's nothing to do with the layer change...I experienced the problem on a single layer DVD just this weekend!

    On a simliar vane, has anyone heard anything from Denon re firmware upgrade?
     
  20. OldSkoO1

    OldSkoO1
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    I realised it was nothing to do with layer change too. It seems to happen anywhere in a film and im not sure what causes it. It sees to happen on about 15% of the films i watch.

    No1 has found an answer for it yet!
     
  21. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Got bored and did an experiment (sort of, no white coats involved) :) ...

    Played 10 DVD's with the volume below 44 (so the fan wasn't on) - 3 DVD's did the subtitle thingy!

    Same DVD's with the volume at 50 (so the cooling fan was on)....no problems!

    I done this twice now with the same results (actually the second time with the fan off only two DVD's "subtitled", but in both cases with the fan on, no problems)!

    As I've stated, not scientific, but could it be an simple heat issue?

    Please feel free to shoot me down if you know otherwise!
     
  22. lightbulb

    lightbulb
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +50
    sounds good for an avenue of investigation, what a coincidence that a new post was placed here as yesterday I had my first experience of this issue on a rental copy of I-Robot :( . The volume was at 48 and the subtitles flickered onto the screen during the building demolition scene and the whole screen/picture flickered as if some picture from another channel was trying to take over. After about 8-10 seconds it was gone and didnt see it again for the rest of the movie. This is the loudest (volume number-wise) I've ever had the system up to since I've had it as the volume on this copy of I-Robot was quite quiet.

    Normally I don't go above 43 or thereabouts. Is reducing the channel levels viable so that I can force the fan by pumping the volume over 50 but at the same time not deafening myself? lol

    Straaange. :rolleyes:
     
  23. Jordans Norks

    Jordans Norks
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Lightbulb, I don't know whether to laugh or cry :) ....I too have had the issue you describe during the demolition scene, since you were at volume 48 it puts an end to my heat theory!

    PANTS!

    Actually the subtitle thing doesn't annoy me as much now as wanting to find the cause / fix! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...