1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unplugging reciever from mains!!Is it ok to do so

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by malcom, Jun 6, 2003.

  1. malcom

    malcom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi. I have just purchased a Samsung 9500vaci digital reciever and was surprised to find it had a 2 pin plug. I have connected it to a 2 pin/to 3 pin shaver adapter.

    But the pins on the reciever are much thinner than I have come across befor and needles to say the connection is prone to movement unless the plug is totaly upright..

    I am worried about leaving it plugged in overnight or when I am out in case it is a poor connection.

    If the reciever is unplugged from the mains would I loose all the channel data that I have downloaded.?

    Can anyone recommend a different plug adaptor that will be secure. Regards. malcom.
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I don't know if this is what you are looking for, go to the Maplin site and do a search for Euro Convertor.
     
  3. malcom

    malcom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi. Thanks for the link. I have done a search but nothing comes up under Euro convertor I'm afaraid. I searched through the connectors section. If it was there I couldn't recognise the technical hype to be sure what I was ordering.

    Does anyone know if all downloaded channel data will be lost when unplugged from the mains!
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Here is a link to a picture.

    Not sure why you can't find the product, certainly works for me when I type in Euro Converter into the search bar at the top of the page.
    Ah :blush:
    Converter with an E not a O.


    As for retaining tuning data I would assume there is an internal battery backup in case of power failure, common facilty in all consumer electronics.
     
  5. malcom

    malcom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks Starburst. I have found it now..
     
  6. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I was about to correct your spelling ;)

    Unfortunately, most search engines aren't intelligent enough to try common misspellings. If they can't find precisely what you type, they tell you (quite truthfully) that it isn't there.

    I thought, as the use of the Internet increased, that we'd see a general improvement in spelling and grammar but the reverse is true. This isn't meant to be a personal insult, by the way - just a general observation! We all make typos.

    Orl R8 M8
     
  7. billduff

    billduff
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Just to the right of civilisation
    Ratings:
    +0
    Malcom,

    You can get these adaptors in most WH Smiths and some larger Boots stores now. Normallywith all the travel adaptor, suitcase locks, inflatable pillows and those useless "Money Belt" things.
     
  8. malcom

    malcom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks billduff I will take a look see. I am actually using a travel adaptor now but the pin diameter is greater than the European pin supplied with the reciever. Let's hope boots and co have now got the real europe type converters.
     

Share This Page

Loading...