Unlocking an iPhone6s

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by MrSossidge, Dec 16, 2015.

Tags:
  1. MrSossidge

    MrSossidge
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,281
    Sorry for posting this in GC but as I know I'll get a fast response here goes.

    I'm looking to buy an iPhone 6s from our classifieds but it is assumed to be locked to Vodafone. I want to use a GiffGaff sim so want to unlock it. I'm aware one of our members has just had a nightmare trying to get a code from Vodafone (@Wahreo ?) so is it a PITA to network unlock or is it straight forward as I want to do this before Christmas so it can be used on the day.

    Cheers
     
  2. alan280170

    alan280170
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    9,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen/The Woodlands TX
    Ratings:
    +4,298
    Whoever has it now should be able to call and get it unlocked (may cost something though as it's a newish phone). Or go to the local market and someone will unlock it for a tenner maybe.
     
  3. LeftyXXIII

    LeftyXXIII
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,929
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,038
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,035
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    We've unlocked quite a few Vodafone-only phones at work.
    You ask them, they then correspond with Apple.
    It can take weeks, honestly.:(
    You can't just take iphones along to a shop to unlock them either.
     
  5. MrSossidge

    MrSossidge
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,281
    Thanks. Would I be better off putting in a PAYG Vodafone sim and porting the number and then unlocking and porting number back?
     
  6. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,035
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    If time is of the essence, that sounds like a plan.
     
  7. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,035
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    I stand to be corrected, but I'm sure phone shops can only jailbreak iphones, so you can use apps from sources other than the apple app store.
    They can't unlock iphones, that can only be done via the provider who then contacts apple.
     
  8. alan280170

    alan280170
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    9,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen/The Woodlands TX
    Ratings:
    +4,298
    Not sure, I am sure they say unlocked, whatever that means.
     
  9. MrSossidge

    MrSossidge
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,281
    A trip to market isn't the way I'd like to go.
     
  10. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,035
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    Misnomer, I think.
    They mean jailbreaking, not unlocking.
    AFAIK an iphone can't be unlocked by someone with a laptop.
     
  11. alan280170

    alan280170
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    9,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen/The Woodlands TX
    Ratings:
    +4,298

    Never needed to, just buy it unlocked from Apple, simple. Only ever seen the signs saying unlock here etc, thought you could jailbreak your phone at home.

    Anyway I personally wouldn't be going to the market.
     
  12. LeftyXXIII

    LeftyXXIII
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,929
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,038
    A market unlock also doesn't guarantee itself against future Apple updates, so you could end up paying for a nice unlocked phone on iOS 9.2 but becomes redundant on 9.3.

    I'd go through Vodafone just to play safe - either through the seller now or as you suggested, buying a Vodafone sim and doing a number port. When I unlocked my iPhone 5S prior to sale it took a couple of days, but it can take anything up to 10 days according to the form.
     
  13. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,035
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    We've had longer than that.
    I well remember one employee buying a used (locked) iphone off us to give to his daughter for her birthday.
    He ended up not giving it to her on time because the bloody unlock didn't happen in time.
     
  14. MrSossidge

    MrSossidge
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,281
    I'm buying 2 and its £100 saving per phone by buying off the classifieds. If I worked in the oil industry maybe I would go direct to Apple. ;)
     
  15. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,822
  16. MrSossidge

    MrSossidge
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,281
    I think this is what I will do. I'll port number over aswell and then port back.
     
  17. wongataa

    wongataa
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +543
    Those vendors get iPhones unlocked by having a contact inside a mobile network who contacts Apple for them. It's riskier than contacting the network in the first place.
     
  18. Elrond

    Elrond
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,165
    O2 unlocked an iPhone for me in around 24 hours a few years back.
     
  19. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,035
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    Hey, the way things are going in the oil industry, there might be a lot of iphones coming up for sale.:laugh:
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  20. BT Bob

    BT Bob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +1,126
    Not sure if this helps the OP, but this clearly varies network-to-network.
    I've just upgraded my 5S to a 6S on EE and paid £8.95 to unlock the 5S so my GF can use it on O2 - took 2 days.
    Similarly, she unlocked her 5C so her son could have that and use it on EE. O2 took 24 hours and was free. In both cases they said it could take up to 10 days.
    Not sure if a 6S would have cost more as it's a newer model.
     
  21. DVD-Man

    DVD-Man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,932
  22. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,035
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    Can't figure out why you'd do this when it's a procedure easily done by the provider?
    It's not as if 12 days is any faster than Vodafone could have done it.
    And I'm sure Vodafone wouldn't charge £23.49, would they?
     
  23. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    53,330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +33,897
    Vodafone charge £20. Might be free if after contract.
     
  24. alan280170

    alan280170
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    9,370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen/The Woodlands TX
    Ratings:
    +4,298
    Very true, only thing I can think of if it is stolen and not bricked.


    MLIR
     
  25. DVD-Man

    DVD-Man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,932
    In my case the handset was on a VMN and such the VMN didn't wan to know or help, just said contact VF, VF wanted bill payers address etc well wasn't sure how that worked so used this method, business phone so needs must.
     
  26. MrSossidge

    MrSossidge
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    6,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    East Riding of Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,281
    Bought the phone anyway and had a Vodafone sim on standby.

    Plugged in the GiffGaff sim and it recognized it and showed GiffGaff as the carrier. So all is good. No need to worry about unlocking it seems.
     
  27. DVD-Man

    DVD-Man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,932
    Awesome, I do like the relief when the worry was over nothing!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice