Unified component output in DVD/VCR deck

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by slawrence, Jun 24, 2005.

1. slawrence

slawrence

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a college AV technician, I've been recommending and installing the JVC HR-XVC37U DVD/VCR deck, mainly for its unique feature of "unified progressive scan output" :lease: for both the DVD and VHS VCR sections. Now it is discontinued and I find no replacement available.
    None of their higher priced models had this feature. Other models of other brands have an output common to both DVD and VHS only with composite video and RF only. JVC's earlier (and still current) HR-XVS44U does provide unified S-Video output, but component progressive scan for only DVD, like everything else I've seen. And it's more expensive due to its S-VHS recording and S-Video input capacity, but how useful is that to most of us today?
    My application is classroom connection to new TVs and projectors with component inputs. You might argue that VHS playback is not going to benefit much from S-Video or component connection. But my main reason for loving the unified single component conection is that I want best DVD display AND I have to make the input selection simple enough that even a PhD can operate it. The composite video output of other models requires two video connection schemes and user selection of two different display inputs. I know if you comprehend this discussion this is kindergarten stuff for you, but it is too complicated for classroom use by multiple users.
    Can anyone point me to another DVD/VCR model of any brand with the unified component output?

2. bonzobanana

bonzobanana

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +219
    Maybe its time to move to a dvd recorder so you can copy all those vhs tapes to dvd?