1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unicol plasma mounts

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by freeranger, Oct 4, 2004.

  1. freeranger

    freeranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Just wondering if anyone has any experience of these and would they recommend them or not?

    I am looking at getting a Pio 435 and a double jointed mount so I can swing it in and out as required.

    A well known dealer (who's name begins with a number) suggested to me that you cannot get these mounts for large plasma's because they are just too heavy.....then I find the unicol site saying it goes up to 50".

    Any commens would be much appreciated.

    thanks
     
  2. dvdsubtitles

    dvdsubtitles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Pio 504 mounted on a unicol slimline mount. Cost £150 from my dealer, very good quality, solid heavy steel. Bolted it to my wall with 4 rawl bolts and feels like it could take much more than the weight of the plasma.

    Not a tilting one. But I can say, I was very satisfied with the quality of the Unicol mount, and very easy to install.

    Hope this helps,
    Mat.
     
  3. freeranger

    freeranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks m8, it's good to get some "real" user comments.....

    Actually, this brings up the next issue, which is actually mounting the screen....
    I know ideally, it would mount to solid wall, but I have this (plan view):

    Code:
    brick layer
    -----------------------------------------
    |_|              |_|             |_| <- battens, with insulation inbetween.
    -----------------------------------------
    plasterboard layer.
    <screen goes here>
    
    Would it be best to cut a big chunk out the plasterboard and affix directly to
    the brick behind, or could I for example, ensure that it rested on two
    battens and put bolts through the plasterboard (and battens if requied?)
    and then into the wall?
    Or could it be fitted just to the plasterboard? (I expect not but wanna
    throw it in there as a option!)

    thanks in advance, oh knowledgable ones. ;)
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  5. dvdsubtitles

    dvdsubtitles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've heard of people fitting direct to plasterboard although I wouldn't recommend it if there were better options.

    You could fit the mount to the wooden battens. Drill some new holes in the mount to make sure they line up with the battens, if the existing holes don't.

    I reckon by far the best thing would be to cut a big accurate hole and have the plasma on the brick wall, and thus appearing 'sunk' into the plasterboard. I think this would look really cool, but obviously would be a lot more work and patience. Also you'd wreck your wall if you ever thought of removing it or moving house.

    Mat
     
  6. dvdsubtitles

    dvdsubtitles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also it occurred to me it would be extremely difficult to actually mount the plasma on the wall once you've cut the hole in the plasterboard, unless you can remove the plasterboard around it first.
     
  7. freeranger

    freeranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, they look nice, and indeed they are ones I have managed to physically look at - but the double arm ones do not go up to 43", and the swivel mounts they do have move in one plane only....
     
  8. freeranger

    freeranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I am a bit concerned about this alright - that's a lot of money down the drain if it falls off the wall....

    Knowing my luck, they will be too far apart, but yeah I think that might be the way I end up going.....

    No, this would not work for me - the distance between the brickwork and the plasterboard is only about an inch or so.

    Good suggestions though, thanks.

    Mat[/QUOTE]
     
  9. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Another option would be find where your batons are, and fix an square/oblong of MDF boarding directly onto the batons.(through the plasterboard etc)
    The MDF board needs to be bigger than the mount, and as wide as it needs to be to span the batons etc. (making sure the edges of the MDF fall on batons)

    Then affix your mount directly to the MDF board using screws/washers etc.

    I would "route" a nice edge onto the MDF board, and paint it either the same colour as your wall, or even paint it in an accent colour.

    I have done this several times on studded walls, and also when mounting projectors to ceiling joists where the mounts needs to be in the middle.
    It is a very very strong and reliable way of doing it.

    A nice method would be to extend the MDF beyond the plasma(not just the mount) by about 10" each side, and have it tall enough to touch floor to ceiling.
    Either paint it, or cover it with material or vinyl etc.
    Yes you can then see the board, but it then becomes a striking feature!
    Plus the plasma really seems to float!
    It also has the advantage of covering any holes made to run the cables!

    Ps, i would NEVER mount a plasma directly to plasterboard, an LCD maybe but not plasma.(plus no point when you can simply use the above method :thumbsup: )
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Also a plasma on a flat mount is one thing, but on the end of a double arm the leverage is something else! You want to get into those bricks for that. though Fulabeer's full length MDF suggestion is fine, 25mm sheet will take the strain, and will enable the load to be well spread on the wall surface. Lots of screws in the board, into the battens. Back in the office I have another extending arm mount, but the makers name escapes me. Max load is 55kgs, I remember that absolutely. Much smarter than the unicol, which looks good as a missile mount for a tank, but not very domestic! Wrinkle finish black epoxy powder, lovely! The ones I have in mind are anodised polished alloy, pretty smart.
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    for 43" you need the PS-1 which is either manual or there is electronic version when you switch on it moves off the wall and turns to face you!!!!! Very smart!
    :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
     
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Alternatively you could spend the same money on a 2nd plasma for the bedroom, you might even get a panny 6!!!
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    manual one is only £500ish tell me where i can get a 42" for that.....
     
  14. freeranger

    freeranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fulabeer - great ideas, thanks!

    MAW- those brackets sound nice - if the name comes back to you, plz post here!

    horny dragon - the brackets you mention only swing the screen one way. The double arm brackets give a lot more room to manouver.

    If I HAVE to go direct into the wall, what size bolts are best?

    thanks again guys.
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    no the PS-1 allows in and out and both ways...Elec is one way only manual is both.... trust me have installed loads of em......
     
  16. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    was referring to the electric one. Mind you they are just as ugly as the unicol, and the motor is hideously expensive, and incidentally supplied by sillysausage, a member here. I will look the nice one up tomorrow
     
  17. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    silly sausage supplies Future Auto or the Shiny one????
     
  18. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    motors for future auto. Nice guy too, and customer of mine...
    plasma arm This is the one I was thinking of. Can get price in the am
     
  19. freeranger

    freeranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That does indeed look a lot better than the unicol.
    Is it "fingertip control" or is it a bit of a pain to move?
    I can't see from the picture how you'd tilt it forward either - is that also fingertip or do you fix it once and that's it?

    Any idea how flush to the wall it is when pushed back?

    I was thinking I'd need a double jointed one - I will be positioning it here:

    Code:
           ----------------------
           |  ============      |    (== is the screen, the rest is wall)
           |                       
    ------                       
    
    and when pulled out would want it here:
    
           ----------------------
           |       /            |    (== is the screen, the rest is wall)
           |       /               
    ------      /                
        ============
    
    
    I wonder would I get away with a single arm (depth of alcove is about 12 inches)?

    A price would be great if you can get one m8.

    cheers
     
  20. freeranger

    freeranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey MAW, did you manage to get a price on that bracket at all?

    many thanks,

    T.
     
  21. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    £550 mate. Compares favourably with unicol, that would be £497 for something you could plough a field with. £50 seems reasonable extra to pay for that. I think it will do your job, from your sketch, try a bit of wood in situ to imitate the movement. Drop me an email if you need help.
     
  22. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    not a bad price.... almost exactly the same as the Furture automation unit......
     
  23. freeranger

    freeranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    but so much sexier than the FA unit....

    Thanks MAW, I need to do a little more thinking on this first.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...