Unhappy about Focus still - BG808

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Alaric, Mar 20, 2006.

  1. Alaric

    Alaric
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +367
    Hi there,

    I'm still not happy about my focus on my BG808.

    To my mind there are two focus adjustments on this beast

    1.) Physicaly lenses, You rotate the back part for the centre, front part for the edge. Works very much like focusing a camera.

    2.) EM focusing, Menu driven under Random/Focusing.

    On my older BD800 / BG801s there were 3 internal pots, next to the G2 controls that did focusing....is there something similar on the BG808 and if so where....Maybe i'm being thick and have missed it in the manuals, Curts, or even the service manual (which while skimming, and setting my 17.2V pot, i haven't done much).

    Thanks,
    Lee
     
  2. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    Hi,

    you are not happy with the focus on the internal test screen...

    OR

    the actual picture OR test pattern from your usual source?

    Could you post a picture?

    What input are you using?
     
  3. Alaric

    Alaric
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +367
    Hi there,

    I'm using a HTPC on port 5, via an RGBHV cable from a radeon X1300. Running either 1280 x 720 @ 72hz for DVD's or 1024 x 768 @ 60hz for a LOTR:Battle for middle earth II game (naughty, i know).

    Both seem soft.

    Can't say i tend to use the internal paterns much as have been told they can be iffy. Use the phillips prog and a few others. Can get Convergance spot on, so its not that.

    Am pondering tubes and magnets and stuff, but i am a little cautious at this.

    cya,
    Lee
     
  4. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    Port3 is your answer.......

    Port5 is known to be soft for PC use......

    Port3 was designed for PC input - that IS your answer at the mo....

    Then if you think post3 is soft, a small modification to the port3 board increases black detail, better colour representaion and for older boards even sharper focus.....

    I would NOT continue to look for the issue until you have moved to port3.

    Not just idle chat , But proved on many Barcos......
     
  5. Alaric

    Alaric
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +367
    Hi there,

    Not sure thats it, never had a prob on my BG801s or BD800....however i will give it a tray, though i'll need a new cable (recomendations?) a VGA to VGA of probably 7-8M !

    I've just had a play with an extron interface i had arround...a 202plus IIRC and it certainly alters the picture a bit, though still port 5 as it outputs RGBHV.....i can take almost anything in as an input :rolleyes:

    So was i right on just two types of focus or not ???

    Ta,
    Lee
     
  6. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    Hi,

    sort of right.....

    There are 2 focus points on the lens.

    There is a focus board - but you cant really do anything with it - just hope its OK.

    BUT....position of magnetics will alter the focus.

    Is it back ground detail thats out of focus?

    Tube hours - curiosity what are they running at?

    OH...and tube type of course?
     
  7. Alaric

    Alaric
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +367
    Hi There,

    Previously i've never needed to play with magnets on tubes, i doubt i could tell you if my BG801s even had them...Isn't there an equivolent to the electrical focus on thoses, ie on the BG801s there are two banks of three post to the side edge of the PJ, one does set does the G2, the other the focus....things go blurry and sharp very quick with those

    See focus board 3/4s the way down on
    http://www.curtpalme.com/Barco500.htm

    However while i know the G2's exsist the focus doesn't....though there is the menu driven focus (Adjust/Random/Focus) i've not managed to get these to do much....ocasionaly at the extreams its worse, but say 35-65 range does nothing.....mind you i've never managed any changes in the menu driven astig set-up either !

    PJ/Tubes have 9821hrs, which is high but not bad. The tubes look clean save a 4:3 or even 4:5 wear on the green which gives a keystone pattern on the edges of my 16:9 screen....hence the looking for a new green. Red is bulit proof, but i've never seen a red burn. Blue is soft as ever comparitivly but no major wear. PJ seems serial no. correct inc the tubes, which suprises me that they are so generaly clean.

    Tubes are MEC i think....well they certainly differ to the ones on CURTS site
    http://www.curtpalme.com/Barco808.htm
    They are slimmer with a kind of tuna fish tin key on them and a couple of plastic twist pot rings that rotate round.

    Cya,
    Lee
     
  8. joerg

    joerg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Lee,

    I had the same Problem with my 1208/2, I could never got the focus look right for my eyes.
    But after trying a lot I found the solution in setting the magnets at the tubes in to the right position and reset the astigmation.
    It is all not to difficult.
    After that wow.

    Joerg
     
  9. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    I hope for you that it is magnet related.

    10k hrs with little wear does suggest the tubes were on but not in use - thats good for visual wear but does mean the tubes are well into their life......

    So now you have port3 which WILL be sharper, magnetics and tubes to consider!

    first 2 are best......
     
  10. Alaric

    Alaric
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +367
    Joerg - Any hints/Tips or pointers at how to's as i think the 808 and the 1208 are very similar.

    Mad-one - Have a 7M cable from ebay winging its way. I doubt its "amazing" quality in itself, but will test the point.

    I have the service manual, but it doesn't really point you in the right direction for magnets etc.....As for tube life, i'd pref younger, but they seem good so i'm fairly happy there....though if anyone has a spare new green:D

    cya,
    Lee
     
  11. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    WOW!! you got a 7m port 3 cable from ebay.......

    That was very lucky.....9 pin port 3 connection special to Barco.......Well done.......

    No mint green 8" available here, sorry..........
     
  12. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    PS - If you do need the connection there are in the FAQ sticky under Barco :smashin:
     
  13. Alaric

    Alaric
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +367
    Hi There,

    Today this post will be brought to you by the words "OH" and "ARSE"....

    Don't you just hate it when you go out and buy something without fully researching it - Where is the smacks oneself in the forehead smiley then ?


    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=9700481119&rd=1&sspagename=STRK:MEWN:IT&rd=1

    15pin male-male cable - approx £12 inc postage....If something seems too good to be true, it is....if you think it isn't, your not comprehending all the facts.:suicide:

    Guess i'll end up doing some cable modding.
     
  14. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    Hi,

    Sorry I did try and get to you but you had alreay hit the "BIN" button.....

    And now I fully understand why its call BIN :eek:

    I was gonna offer but the cable would be about £100 and is a special order, 2 weeks approx turn round time, uses broadcast quality cable but its a lot of money.

    £12 and re end it your cheaper option - working on a 9 pin din is MUCH easier than the HD15 pins.....

    Oh...And if you really want to do the best then solder direct to port3 board - thats in my next round of mods......
     
  15. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    Oh! if you find the FAQ useful dont forget to add your thanks! :thumbsup:

    I have like 55 pages to go !!!!
     
  16. joerg

    joerg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Lee.
    PM me and I can sent you the crt replacement procedure, in there is explained how to set the magnets.

    joerg
     

Share This Page

Loading...