Unable to Finalize

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by panaman, Aug 23, 2004.

  1. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    I have a Panasonic E50 which I have had for over a year now and is fantastic, but I experienced my first problem over the weekend.

    BBCTHREE were showing "The Smoking Room" back to back, making a total of 4 hours, so I used Flexible Record (FR). As I wanted to keep it and watch it in other players I used a DVD-R.

    I went to play the disk in the DVD Player upstairs and it wouldn't play. I suddenly remembered that DVD-R's have to be "Finalised". I put the disk in the machine and tried to finalise it, but I got the message "Could not Finalise". :rolleyes:

    I have tried several times, but still no joy :(

    Look forward to your replies :lease:
     
  2. ammar

    ammar
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sometimes if you take the disk out and reload it it can finalise. Once I had to heat the disk up with a hair dryer until I could barely touch it and it worked, was told it is possible to damage your recorder though if you do this but was desperate.

    What make is the media?
     
  3. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    Sounds a bit risky :(

    The DVD is my usual unbranded discs that I usually use on the PC and they play in the E50 with no problem at all :)

    I did wonder if it was because I had removed the disk, but it doesn't mention it in the manual :lesson:
     
  4. ammar

    ammar
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If nothing else works do try the hair dryer, dont heat to 1000000 degrees, just a little bit, to give you an indication, when you take the disk out of the recorder after an hours recording it is pretty hot isnt it, so the machine can manage some heat from the disc as long as it is not glowing hot. Make sure you heat the entire surface though. :devil:

    Because you have no HDD, you have only 1 shot at recording, therefore, it pays to follow these tips: :lesson:

    1 - Before you record on a disc, edit its title and see if it saves ok, that is normally a good indication of reliability
    2 - do not take disks out before finalising them
    3 - use a reasonable media make, Verbatims 2 X are around 60 to 70 pence from bigpockets, ebuyer and so on. You dont need the 4 and 8 speed media with the E50 cus whats the point, 2 speed is good and cheap and plentiful.
    4 - do not overfill the disk, leave a couple of minutes in SP mode (equivalent in other modes) on the disk.
    5 - Try to avoid repeated record a bit/power off /power up/record a bit/power off/power up cycles with the same disc if you can

    :hiya:
     
  5. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks for the advice

    I would give the hairdryer a go, but I don't have one :laugh:

    Think I will just keep trying to Finalise it and maybe I will get lucky :)
     
  6. OARDVD

    OARDVD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deepest Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    Sounds amazing, but when I put the disk in the player it shows remaining time of 2 hrs, but wont let me record anything else, but I will certainly give it a go :)

    Many thanks, I will let you know how I get on :smashin:
     
  8. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    I downloaded the program and hey presto, I can see 4 files and one of them is 4GB, which is the program.

    I extracted them and now have 4 "tao" files. I can play the 4GB file in Windows Media Player 9 and it works a treat, but I am stumped as to what to do next. I tried saving it as an MPG file and that plays ok, but when I try and convert it using TMpeg it stops after a few mins and my PC runs out of memory. I dont ever have trouble converting MPGE files normally.

    I also tried a couple of other programs I have and they says its not a valid MPEG file?

    Should I have saved if from ISOBuster in a different way?
     
  9. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    just an idea. in iso buster is there a way of creating an ISO image from the DVD that you want to rip from??

    If so you could create a ISO image or image and then burn that to a DVD-R or similar using your writer software for example i would use NERO.

    Also you could try this http://www.dvddecrypter.com/

    Create an iso image first and then burn the ISO image to a DVD-R. The software is free and works well for creating image files and burning them.

    Dal
     
  10. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14

    I didn't see the option for creating an ISO image, I will have to look for that one when I get home. Can you point me in the right direction as to where I can find that option?

    I have dvddecrypter and use it a lot :)

    Thanks
     
  11. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    I have not used iso buster so im not to sure. But in the file settings or extract settings tabs there must be an option as to what you want to save the file as and hopefully image will be one of them.

    You saved them as tao files maybe thats the standard for iso buster. If the option is not there try dvddecryptor its free and is a really smart piece of kit and may help you out.

    Also maybe get on the isobuster website and see if they have a help section on creating image files.

    Dal :thumbsup:
     
  12. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    Just looked on the website and it says -

    - Creation of image files (*.iso, *.bin, *.tao)

    So try the extract to ISO option and then burn the ISO image
     
  13. kevincm

    kevincm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anohter option is to Extract using TAO (Track At Once) using ISOBuster, and then rename the files (ones that are over 10Mb are normally your Recordings) to .vob or .mpg and then reburn using your favioute DVD Recording tool.

    I've managed to salvage some unfinaised recordings (I blame LG) and when i get time, i'll be reburning them back onto DVD (and then considering a larger scratch drive....)

    Kevin Marshall
     
  14. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks for all you replies.

    I'm itching to get home now and give them a go :)
     
  15. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    If you get a chance post back tonight/tom with your findings.. I would be interested to know if you get it sorted ot not.

    Dal
     
  16. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14

    I certainly will :)
     
  17. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    Still no joy :(

    I tried DVD Decrypter and it couldn't see the disc, but after I messed around it found it but said it was empty even though it showed 22MB remaining

    When I use ISOBuster and select open session image the options for RAW *bin, *.iso which are in bold are actually greyed out:(

    So...... the best thing I have manged to do is extract a tao file that I can play in windows media player 9 and save as an .mpg, but so far just can not get it to convert with anything that I have to a format which will enable me to burn it to a new DVD :(
     
  18. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    What about opening it in isobuster and then saving it as an iso??

    Those options would be grey out as you have not created an iso image yet to open??

    Dal
     
  19. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    I'm usually pretty good at this sort of thing, but this makes me feel like a complete dummy :suicide:

    Here are some screen shots of what I have, maybe these will help explain. They show the different options that I get by right clicking on different areas of the tree. Whatever I do i just get *.tao files. I have tried renaming them to *iso and that doesn't work :lease:
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    22,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,930
    Panaman, have you tried renaming the .TAO file to .AVI (or .MPEG) and seeing if you can do anything with it then? For example try importing it into TMPG Enc 3Xpress.

    If your still having no luck may I suggest visiting:
    http://forum.digital-digest.com/
    Odds are if anyone online can help then they will be there.
     
  21. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    What happens if you highlight the 4 chunks in the right pain, does it then give you the option to create an image file??

    Well get there in the end Fella, its good to be tested - ;0)

    Dal
     
  22. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    5,057
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +590
    anymore luck on this fella???
     
  23. panaman

    panaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +14
    Still struggling with it :censored:

    Thanks for asking. I will let you know when/if I manage to get it to work.

    Just keep getting those :censored: TAO files :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice