1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

umm... how do I fast forward ?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by snow-munki, Aug 18, 2005.

  1. snow-munki

    snow-munki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Just installed MCE and having a play with it. Loaded an divx movie onto it, and it doesn't seem to be able to fasst forward.

    click fast forward on my remote does nothing

    click on the fast forward on the media button near the bottom does nothing

    trying to slide the bar doesn't work either ...

    any ideas ???

    Thanks !
     
  2. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    Yes... it don't work :rolleyes:

    Basically with some files, divx/xvid especially the only way of navigating them is play/stop/pause or skip back and forth, normally a minute or so but you can adjust the amount of time in the settings (I think, or maybe in one of the customiser plug ins). Mine is set to 1 minute, so if I want to jump to half an hour in to the file I press skip thirty times :(

    Out of interest can you fast forward in any othe players because I have never found one?

    lisa
     
  3. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    You cannot fast forward Divx in Media Center, that's just the way it is, but if you load it in media player 10 you can use your mouse to skip though the file in the time line. Anyway don't see why it should have this feature most people who have divx files on there computer obtained them illeagaly, i.e P2P and the files them self are prolly illegal (Bootlegged films), so good riddence to them..., if you encode to Divx try switching to Windows Media Video, you get lower bitrates than mpeg 2 an can achieve similar or better quality, also you can fast foward WMV in media center, also the tool allowing you to enocode to WMV called "Windows Media Encoder" is free and very flexible, just drag your file into it (Mpeg/VOB/AVI) and choose the settings you want and it will pretty much do the rest for you, even supports AC3 audio encoding...
     
  4. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    What sort of file size do you get for a say, 2hr film? I wonder if they will play across the xbox media center extender, and work ok in the My Movies plug in - tell you what, I'll give it a go over the weekend....! :smashin:
     
  5. snow-munki

    snow-munki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    umm thanks...

    any clue on the plugin as i can't event skip in one min segments..
     
  6. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Should play, hey I'll see if I can upload a sample for you, not quite got the 5.1 audio going. But for a 2 hour Film which is 6GB in Mpeg 2, I encode that at 3mb/s WMV and it looks pretty much identical to the Mpeg 2 version and weighs it at around 2.8GB, sound is spot on to, 5.1 AC3 audio is properly folded down to 2 channel wma, but 3mb/s is a bit of an over kill 2mb/s would be fine, but I like having that little bit extra. I kinda of got a good method going on how to do the encode, but I never quite finished it, i can give you some pointers if you like and start you off...oh and it take around 9 hours for a full encode, yes it's a long time, maybe an overnight job, but the end result is worth it, you get a great looking/sounding file which is easy to play, simply double click it and media player will open it every time...
     
  7. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +412
    I cannot get WME to accept an ac3 file for transcoding to wmapro. I had to decode the ac3 to 6 wav files to encode as wmapro. How do you get wmenc to accept an ac3 file? I'm pretty sure that it won't encode to ac3 either only wma or wmapro..
     
  8. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    The Ac3 file has to be contained in the .VOB file which you ripped from the dvd, simply load the .VOB file in and when you encode it the audio will be transcoded to WMA, also what software did you use to deocde the ac3 to six seperate waves....I use Sonic Foundry Soft Encode to Decode the .ac3 file to a single six channel wave file but WME won't except it, is there a tool to seperate each channel from the six channel wave into six seperate mono wave files..
     
  9. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    you can select all the settings yourself if you encode using 1mb VBR you can get 1 hour down to about 500mb so 1gb for an 2hr film and yes s its WM9 it will play perfectly on an xbox extender.
    I just use XBMC to play divx I can't be bothered with the re-encoding I do use it to archive tv eps to DVDR though very handy.
     
  10. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Any chance you can upload some clips?. I got webspace if you need it..
     
  11. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    yeah ok FTP to your web space would be quickest I am in work at moment I will catch you later for details.
     
  12. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    I uploaded 2 WMV files to your server.
     
  13. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    I see only one clip, fast and furious, downloading now, thanks...
     
  14. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +412
    BeSweet (and the GUI) will decode AC3 to 6 Mono WAVs - these can be brought in to WMEnc - New Session, Custom, Source from Device, Audio - Mult Channel WAV source - Configure and you can browse for your 6 WAVs (FC,FL,FR,SL,SR,LFE)....I'm trying to bring in a FAKE AVI (from VFAPI - actually a HD .ts file) and the stripped AC3 but with no joy. Doing it with the Multi WAVs it's taking 5 days to encode Fight Club @ 1920x1080 10mb/s WM9 with a 384kbps WMAPro 5.1
     
  15. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    That's how long it takes the movie studios when they do it from uncompressed source...
     
  16. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    Just getting down to my first Windows Media Encoder experience - meansizzler is advising me via pm - how do other people go about this?
    DVD to WMV with 5.1 soundtrack - it all seems very confusing to me :confused:

    lisa
     
  17. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
  18. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    don't think so, but here are some settings if you need them..

    from the main tab, select the source as "file", then load your .vob

    On the second tab, select push to file, to save your video as a file, then select where you want to save it...

    Compression---

    Video:
    -2 Pass...
    -Size:Same as Input
    -Bitrate:3000k
    -Smoothness:100
    -Framerate: for Pal 25, for NTSC 29.97
    -Allow Non Square Pixel Output

    Audio:
    -Bitrate:192kbps/48Hz/Stereo/16Bit



    Now Press Apply, then hit encode, and leave your machine for 3-9 hours till it is done..
     
  19. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    Thanks, will give that a go - what about 5.1 sound though, is there no way to do it all in one go without encoding to stereo?

    My first attempt was all wrong - rubbish quality, 250mb for a 2 hour film - and no audio!

    lisa
     
  20. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Hahaha, start with stereo then work your way up, i'm doing my first full 5.1 encode now, i'll tell you how i done it later, anyway i done a quick test and it sounds ok, so now encoding the whole film at 3mb/s, 2 pass....gonna take all night and some of the morning..., i'll send you my finished product lisa, but it will be a few GB in size, so i have no clue how..
     
  21. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    Ah thanks, just tell me how you did it if you like - I'll leave a video with stereo encode going overnight with your settings, at least I can compare the quality of the compression against xvid/divx - won't be any good to me if I can't retain 5.1 though....

    lisa
     
  22. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    You need that program Soft Encode, to convert the .ac3 to six channel .wav, they you just convert the .wav to 5.1 wma with windows audio convertor, then just load the wma and .vob into media encoder, key in the settings then hit encode...i'll talk to you about it tommorow...
     

Share This Page

Loading...