Ultra-slim yet Powerful HTPC Build (Wesena e5)

sashaarrabi91

Standard Member
Hello everyone!

I'm new to avforums, so bear with me please :)

My story is the same as many of those who build HTPC's: I am sick of paying cable fees on a monthly basis that are gonna pile up over a long period of time. I'm also looking for a stutter-free, powerful all-in-one solution for all multimedia content, on a budget of $1,500 maximum. The price is hefty, but I really mean all-in-one. I'm not buying anymore media players in long, long time :nono:

I decided to use the Windows Media Center built into Windows 7, and build a very compact, yet very powerful system that had the following functionalities:

• Watch and/or record 4 simultaneous streams of Live HD Digital TV (w/ CableCARD) using the built-in WMC Guide
  • Play stored HD video content in any format
  • Stream HD video content from online streaming websites (youtube, hulu, etc.) and services (Netflix, Internet TV, etc.)
  • Play DVDs and Blu-Ray Discs (through PowerDVD plugin)
  • Play music stored on the system as well as on other computers on the home network
  • Rip DVDs and BDs
  • Burn to DVD/CD
  • Extend Windows Media Center from HTPC to Xbox 360
One of the most compact cases out there is the Wesena e5. One of the few problems with using such an ultra-slim case is ensuring proper heat control and making sure the components (like heatsink/fan and PSU) fit in nicely.

After tons and tons and TONS of research, I think I came up with the right parts for the job. What do you guys think?

Case: Wesena e5
Mobo: ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 980 Deneb
Heatsink/Fan: Akasa Low Profile AMD CPU Cooler
TV Tuner: Ceton InfiniTV 4
Blu-Ray Drive: Sony Optiarc BC-5600S
PCI-E 1x Riser: HOTER PCI-E Express 1X Riser Card
HDD Fan: Thermaltake A2427
Memory/RAM: Team Elite 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Hard Drive: Seagate ST31000524AS Barracuda
PSU: Athena Power AP-MFATX40P8

Total Cost (rough estimate): $1,125