Ultimate DVD Platinum Edition

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by Mwillo, Aug 18, 2002.

1. Mwillo

Mwillo
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have noticed a lot off reference to the Ultimate DVD Platinum Edition on these pages. And was just wondering is it worth purchasing as it seems a bit expensive to me. As its seems all i would do would be to use it once then leave it on the shelf to gather dust. I could be wrong i usually am. I only ask as am about to buy a new TV and want to set it up correctly.

Mark

2. damtom1

damtom1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    To be honest,i thought it was great as a demo disc.I'm not that technically minded,so i didnt really make full use of its sound levels and picture tweaks.
    Personally i think its easier to set levels to your own preferences by using a decent film(U-571,The Haunting,Saving Private Ryan..etc..)

3. Squirrel God

Squirrel God

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this. I picked it up for £10 delivered from www.ezydvd.com.au so have a check on there, it's probably still available for that price ;) It's very good for basic set-up and for demos and it will help you improve your picture and sound quality if you run the tests on the disk. But I wouldn't pay more than that price for it.

If you want the best, most people would recommend Avia - but it comes at a price and it's not worth it if you're not going to understand the extra tests that are on the disk (i.e. not technically minded).

4. The Huss

The Huss

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys

Does anybody know if these setup discs can be rented from anywhere.

Seems like a good idea - unless I'm missing something?

5. Rob

Rob

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +35