1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ulead - DVD Moviefactory or Video Studio?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by smarty, Aug 22, 2005.

1. smarty

smarty

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +26
    I'm new to video editing and want to put take the best bits of our honeymoon from 4 Mini DV tapes and put them together into a DVD.
    I'd like to add some still pictures with background music at the start as well.
    I've had a look around and Ulead products seem to get good ratings.
    However, I'm confused between whether I need DVD Moviefactory 4, DVD Moviefactory 4 Disc Creator or Video Studio 9. I can't really tell what the differences are. I'm unlikely to want to do a huge amount of editing, just taking the best bits off tape and putting them all together with transitions etc.
    So - which one should I go for?

Also, my camera is a JVC GRD72 that I bought in the US. I guess this means that it captures video in NTSC format. Am I best off keeping in NTSC format all the way through to the final DVD or converting to PAL at some point?

Thanks

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    You can download trial versions (fully functioning, time limited to 30 days) from ULead, so you can see if they do what you want. I guess Video Studio 9 will certainly do what you want - but try it.

If the native video source is NTSC, then make the DVD that way. Most people have NTSC playback nowadays for DVDs, and conversion to PAL will degrade the image and introduce motion jerkiness.