UK to USA

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by halo777, Mar 9, 2006.

  1. halo777

    halo777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    if i buy the following model Panasonic TH42PWD8 and Panasonic TH50PHD8, is there any adapter that i can change the 240voltage to 130 (whatever the usa got)..??? please help
     
  2. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    I'm guessing it'll do both voltages as standard, but don't quote me on this.
    I suggest you refer to the on-line manual :smashin:
     
  3. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Don't thank me, it looks like I'm talking out of my proverbial, having just done a search.
    Ok, so you need to get a "step up transformer" :smashin:
    The important thing to consider here is the wattage you need.
    More watts = more dough.

    They are avaialble, no worries, just make sure the plugs are right and as I say the wattage is adequate.
    A PWD 7 uses around 400W at 240V.
    Hence your 110V transformer will need to handle nearer 1000W IMO. :eek:
    That's a lot, mate, so it'll probably get a bit expensive :thumbsdow
     
  4. halo777

    halo777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    o.... but thanks man!! btw what plasma have u got??:)
     
  5. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Hit 7200 :smashin:
     
  6. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
  7. halo777

    halo777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow... cool man!! my daddy is planning to buy a plasma, but in half years time he will going to live in usa... therefore just wondering should he be buying it now or after he went there... but anyway thanks for your help man!! 1 more question: which 42inch plasma will u buy if u had 1500 pounds? with freeview.. i am looking for Panasonic TH42PWD8... what do u think?? sorry about my english.. not very good!! want this plasma before the world cpu!! so exciting
     
  8. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Buy in the U.S, no question :smashin:
    You will probably get a 50" or maybe a 55" for £1500.
    Plus you don't have to worry about the voltage problem :thumbsup:
    Panasonic is fine, but like I say, buy over there, it's much less expensive.
    Also shipping will be expensive and very risky, IMO.
     
  9. NeilV

    NeilV
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The PWD 7 will still consume 400W whether it gets the supply directly from the mains at 240v or whether there is a transformer between it and the mains at 110.

    So not clear to me why you are advocating a 1000W transformer unless you are being very cautious. The problem with oversizing the transformer is that the bigger ones can be very noisy.
     
  10. pieohnear

    pieohnear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Someone who has one of these models should be able to check the back panel to check the input specs. 90% of electrical stuff these days is 100-240V 50/60Hz compatible, so no need for a transformer or any thing like that. The pio 436 takes the multiple power inputs so I assume the Pana should too.

    Edit - Okay, just looking at their specs, appears as if they are limited to 220-240V. Don't know why this would be, anythign to do with their being commercial panels?
     
  11. Avi

    Avi
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,064
    If the display does not support 240v you would need a 110-130v step down transformer. The cost is based on the watt handling capacity of the unit. I recently purchased a 75w for £7.99. There are plenty of places to buy including ebay once you know the size of unit you need.

    Avi
     
  12. unique

    unique
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,211
    he's probably better waiting and buying in the states where it'll probably be much cheaper as larger screens are more common there. just go to best buy and drool at the massive tellys, it makes john lewis look like a toy shop

    if you do ship from uk to usa you also run the risk of damage in transport

    oh, and i doubt freeview is going to work in the states either, you may have problems tuning into any channels actualy with a uk model, and have to use an external tuner instead
     
  13. halo777

    halo777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your advice
     
  14. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    :oops: Of course you're correct :smashin:
    Blame it on the Stella. :rolleyes:

    I'd still go for the 1000W anyway, just for added reliability.
    But it's all academic anyway, as buying now and shipping would be a daft option.
    Thanks for clearing that up :smashin:
     
  15. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    I made the same mistake.
    It would appear that our Pannies are UK only, something, in this day and age I find strange. Maybe ours only do PAL50 :confused:
     
  16. halo777

    halo777
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how much a secound hand TH42PWD8 will costs?
     

Share This Page

Loading...