uk games on us ps3

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by sheephorse, Apr 24, 2007.

  1. sheephorse

    sheephorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    452
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi guys

    i was in game today and asked the guy if i could play uk games on my us ps3 and he said no, i know you can play them ( i only asked because he kept pestering me)i also asked in another store if i bought a uk game would i be able to play uk gamers he said no it was the machine and not the game that decided this, is this true

    thought i would check this with the experts here ;)

    cheers folks
     
  2. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    He was incorrect on both counts. All games are region free and will play in any PS3 from any region. Who you can play online is determined by the region of the game and not the console.
     
  3. sheephorse

    sheephorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    452
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +10
    cheers moogle for the reply

    is it 100% that the game decides what server it connects to and not the console? i know for a fact games are region free, its just that i was going to buy a few uk games for my machine and thought that i wouldnt be able to play other uk gamers

    thanks a lot mate :)
     
  4. JP73

    JP73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    UK copy of Motorstorm connects me to EU servers, on a US machine, while US copy of resistance connects me to US servers so it pretty much varies depending on the game. I think there are plans afoot to open up all servers but don't quote me on that! Remember though that there are a lot of UK importers and you will certainly see people from UK on the US servers
     
  5. jshippey

    jshippey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have the US version of Resistance and can play UK players on my UK machine - seems to contradict what's been said here! :confused:
     
  6. sheephorse

    sheephorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    452
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +10
    thanks man :) i would rather play uk gamers so i will just get uk games as the americans are quite annoying after 30 seconds
     
  7. Gunhawk

    Gunhawk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich (Ex-Watford)
    Ratings:
    +902
    Me to. US copy of RFOM, UK machine, UK online.
    I presume RFOM region is decided by Console, whereas Ive heard Motorstorm is decided by the disc itself.
     
  8. TwoJs

    TwoJs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +3,980
    I am seriously thinking of getting a PS3 US version, but just want to confirm, can you set up other online accounts ie UK, HK, JPN etc along with obviously the US one, cheers
     
  9. rebelpj24205

    rebelpj24205
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    conisbrough , doncaster
    Ratings:
    +29
    yes you can i have a hon kong ps3 with a usa account holiday inn florida was the address i used and a uk account my address and i import games and play them fine usa game cod3 lets me use the us server motorstom from the states is the same
     
  10. jogon

    jogon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    I think RFOM is the only game that limits online play to the region of console. There's many threads discussing this from before the UK release. I have a Japanese console and US game but can only play on the Japanese servers but apparently there is an update soon allowing the user to choose which region they play in.
     
  11. M1keF

    M1keF
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +70
    RFoM is the only game so far that determines your region by your console. As has been said the May update will address this issue with global servers :)

    The rest of the games, the disc determines the region that you connect to.

    In my opinion every game should be playable everywhere and totally independant on what region your machine or disc is
     
  12. sheephorse

    sheephorse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    452
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +10
    i totally agree!!!!! i thought the whole idea about online play was the ability to play gamers anywhere in the world , rather than come down to what region the game is, so does that mean that most new uk releases from now on will only let us play people from the uk ?
     
  13. M1keF

    M1keF
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +70
    hopefully not but then you can never be sure.

    Eventually the service will evolve to be more like LIVE, if it doen't then it just won't survive imo

    I am more than happy to just play people from the UK especially if we are hosting the game ourselves and not using a dedicated server
     
  14. enricokael2005

    enricokael2005
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    As moderator already explained there is no region coding on PS3 games and NTSC/PAL issues are things of the past because if PS3 is HD-connected to TV it works on 24 fps as oppose to NTSC (29) and PAL (25).

    Correct?
     
  15. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    24fps only refers to blu-ray films and not games. Games are still 60Hz ( 29fps ) for NTSC and 50Hz ( 25fps ) for PAL. NTSC and PAL is still a factor but as pretty much all HD TV's support both PAL and NTSC it's not an issue. Also an PS3 will not play PAL games on an SD TV. You would still need an HDTV for that.
     
  16. enricokael2005

    enricokael2005
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks so much for your help. :thumbsup:

    If I buy Japan PS3 console before HD telly I wouldn't be able to test in on SDTV that accepts only PAL signal. I could put R1 DVD that I have into PS3 but picture would be black&white. Right? I really need to get HDTV!

    I do have NTSC DVDs but I always play them through my Sony DVD Player which transfers picture to PAL.

    I can't understand why Sony didn't integrated NTSC/PAL conversion into PS3.
     
  17. Moogle

    Moogle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    13,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,398
    Well R1 DVD's will work on an SD TV that is both PAL and NTSC compatible but if the TV is PAL only then I presume it will be in black and white. I've never had to deal with that so I can't say for sure.
     

Share This Page

Loading...