UK available DVD player with Pscan VGA output wanted.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by mcaw, Sep 5, 2003.

  1. mcaw

    mcaw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Having read a lot of threads, some old, some new, Its seems a good quality VGA output would be ideal to drive my ae100 projector.

    So, ignoring HTPC's for the moment.
    Is there any reasonably priced ( as Pscan component can now be had quite cheap ) DVD -players with VGA output available inthe UK
    If this is NO, were would be the best place to source one from.
     
  2. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    www.aria.co.uk

    used to do a dvd player with prog scan and vga out.

    i bought one but had mixed results with it. i think i paid about £80 from them.

    not sure if they still do them

    good luck
     
  3. mcaw

    mcaw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Read some reports on them, probably from you, and gather the quality was crap.
     
  4. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. simonthepieman

    simonthepieman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +12
    read the momitsu threads here and at avs
    It outputs thru VGA
    I use one with my old davis projector and it made a huge diff to PQ
    Its not stocked in the uk but is available from www.hivizone.com
    when they have stock, you pay in dollars comes from hong kong
    mine took 3 days from posting!!!!

    As you will see from the theads it does have quirks but mine is fine outputting
    720p thur the dvi port using adaptor to vga cable approx 9m long
     
  6. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    I have always 'wanted' this facility but all players have been crap, inc those mentioned above, buyer beware.
     
  7. Easy2BCheesy

    Easy2BCheesy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmmmmmmm the Momitsu thread raves about its 480p picture quality.
     
  8. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +218
    The ae100 won't cope with vga. I think the input is specifically designed for computer. The picture will be sharper and more detailed but the projector will drop frames when panning. I'd take you projector to a shop to see. It's more obvious on long panning shots..ie. LOTR - Gandalf gets to Bilos door and you get a pan of the whole of hobitron. Component feed the pan will be nice and smooth with vga it will be really jurky and horrid.
     
  9. mcaw

    mcaw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Jus

    Have you experineced this ? Other people seem to have excellent results feeding wide 480 resolution into the vga port, ( I believe this is the projectors native resolution ), and not wanting the hassle of a HCPC that is why I am looking for a DVD with vga or DVI out.

    Has anyone else any comments on this ?
     
  10. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +219
    the Panasonic has a vga connector which is the standard connecter but can take vga, svga, xvga or whatever using this socket. You may have found a weakness in the ae100 or even projectors generally but this would be related to the actual refresh rate you use and possibly the original source. The ae100 is fine as I've used the vga port with computers and consoles and not had any problems. The ae100 manual states which pc video modes it will work with and these appear to work faultlessly for me. However the ae100 will also work with non standard pc modes too. Anyway to understand what exactly you mean we need to know which region disc and what exact equipment and software (if htpc).
     
  11. Jenz

    Jenz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There isn't a ratified standard for Macrovision on a VGA Socket thus you won't typically see it on "branded" players only Chinese Type clones that flaunt the "rules".

    Saying that most Vendors when the are building the machines do use a VGA connector (D-Sub).

    My Arcam FMJ DV27 for example outs Prog NTSC and Prog PAL thru its VGA Socket :rotfl: ;)
     
  12. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,092
    The Skyworth 1050P outputs VGA (and component) progressive scan. I've just bought one as a backup machine for my htpc, so haven't really tried it yet, but it seems to output 800 x 600 @ 75hz for PAL, and 640 x 480 @ 60hz for NTSC. Quality seems pretty good, but I've not been able to propely test it yet.

    Hivizone did sell them, but they're out of production now, so second hand seems to be the only source.

    The Bravo D1 and Samsung 931 both have dvi, but the Samy had issues IIRC (neither were MR I don't believe). They're bringing out the 935 here in the UK soon, so that may be worth a look if the issues are resolved. You may need a dvi to vga adapter though.

    Gary.
     

Share This Page

Loading...